Highest-Paying English (Bachelor's) Programs in the US
- 471 programs report first-year pay
- 32 state rankings
- Bachelor's in English Language and Literature, General
College Scorecard June 2026 release · BLS wages May 2025
The short answer
The median English bachelor's program in the US pays its graduates $30,195 in their first year and $47,348 five years after. New Jersey has the highest state median ($35,925), and Louisiana the lowest ($24,355). The median program leaves its graduates with $24,498 in federal debt.
All 471 programs, ranked by graduate pay
Each program is ranked by the median pay of its graduates one year after they finished, from College Scorecard. This measures what graduates earn, not how good the teaching is. Pay also depends on where graduates live and work. Programs that don't report a figure are listed last when you sort by it.
| # | School | Year 1 pay | After cost of living | Year 5 pay | Debt | Debt to pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Georgetown UniversityWashington, DC · private nonprofit | $52,122 | Not adjusted | $78,299 | $16,500 | 32% |
| 2 | UH-Clear LakeHouston, TX · public | $50,876 | $52,419 | $56,987 | $15,875 | 31% |
| 3 | Monmouth UniversityWest Long Branch, NJ · private nonprofit | $50,737 | $46,631 | $56,517 | $27,000 | 53% |
| 4 | Brown UniversityProvidence, RI · private nonprofit | $50,437 | Not adjusted | $55,569 | $13,500 | 27% |
| 5 | Northeastern UniversityBoston, MA · private nonprofit | $49,639 | Not adjusted | $53,709 | $27,000 | 54% |
| 6 | Bowdoin CollegeBrunswick, ME · private nonprofit | $49,421 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 7 | Williams CollegeWilliamstown, MA · private nonprofit | $49,340 | Not adjusted | $65,491 | $13,125 | 27% |
| 8 | Seton Hall UniversitySouth Orange, NJ · private nonprofit | $48,368 | $44,454 | $57,026 | $25,139 | 52% |
| 9 | Colgate UniversityHamilton, NY · private nonprofit | $48,008 | Not adjusted | $60,334 | $15,875 | 33% |
| 10 | SMUDallas, TX · private nonprofit | $47,019 | Not adjusted | $73,804 | $19,500 | 41% |
| 11 | Dartmouth CollegeHanover, NH · private nonprofit | $45,157 | Not adjusted | $90,619 | $20,407 | 45% |
| 12 | Georgian Court UniversityLakewood, NJ · private nonprofit | $44,982 | $41,342 | $56,178 | $26,000 | 58% |
| 13 | Stonehill CollegeEaston, MA · private nonprofit | $44,629 | $42,200 | $60,159 | $24,737 | 55% |
| 14 | University of ChicagoChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $44,397 | Not adjusted | $54,643 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 15 | East Texas A&M UniversityCommerce, TX · public | $43,470 | $44,788 | Not reported | $13,407 | 31% |
| 16 | College of the Holy CrossWorcester, MA · private nonprofit | $43,362 | Not adjusted | $81,948 | $27,000 | 62% |
| 17 | Utah Tech UniversitySaint George, UT · public | $42,110 | $42,594 | $40,629 | $16,530 | 39% |
| 18 | Amherst CollegeAmherst, MA · private nonprofit | $41,979 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 19 | Boston CollegeChestnut Hill, MA · private nonprofit | $41,878 | Not adjusted | $70,856 | $18,832 | 45% |
| 20 | University of Northern IowaCedar Falls, IA · public | $41,870 | $47,709 | $47,249 | $24,274 | 58% |
| 21 | Gonzaga UniversitySpokane, WA · private nonprofit | $41,077 | $38,385 | $57,102 | $27,000 | 66% |
| 22 | Yale UniversityNew Haven, CT · private nonprofit | $41,045 | Not adjusted | $62,925 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 23 | UPennPhiladelphia, PA · private nonprofit | $40,967 | Not adjusted | $59,903 | $19,500 | 48% |
| 24 | Athens StateAthens, AL · public | $40,917 | $46,066 | $43,504 | $26,833 | 66% |
| 25 | Chapman UniversityOrange, CA · private nonprofit | $40,861 | $36,905 | Not reported | $22,750 | 56% |
| 26 | UW-Green BayGreen Bay, WI · public | $40,812 | $43,373 | $45,294 | $25,000 | 61% |
| 27 | Providence CollegeProvidence, RI · private nonprofit | $40,798 | Not adjusted | $57,791 | $25,500 | 63% |
| 28 | UT ArlingtonArlington, TX · public | $40,718 | $41,953 | $52,557 | $23,613 | 58% |
| 29 | William & MaryWilliamsburg, VA · public | $40,697 | $40,253 | $55,995 | $19,500 | 48% |
| 30 | Gettysburg CollegeGettysburg, PA · private nonprofit | $40,601 | Not adjusted | $58,130 | $26,724 | 66% |
| 31 | East Central UniversityAda, OK · public | $40,559 | $46,172 | $38,566 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 32 | University of South AlabamaMobile, AL · public | $40,486 | $45,581 | $42,442 | $23,505 | 58% |
| 33 | Barnard CollegeNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $40,414 | $37,448 | $66,870 | $19,000 | 47% |
| 34 | Notre DameNotre Dame, IN · private nonprofit | $40,345 | Not adjusted | $65,653 | $19,500 | 48% |
| 35 | Bates CollegeLewiston, ME · private nonprofit | $40,233 | Not adjusted | $60,044 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 36 | Longwood UniversityFarmville, VA · public | $40,167 | $39,728 | $48,248 | $26,500 | 66% |
| 37 | Lebanon Valley CollegeAnnville, PA · private nonprofit | $40,151 | $41,150 | $49,572 | $27,000 | 67% |
| 38 | UVACharlottesville, VA · public | $40,092 | $39,654 | $65,660 | $15,000 | 37% |
| 39 | Fitchburg StateFitchburg, MA · public | $39,938 | $37,764 | $45,015 | $27,000 | 68% |
| 40 | Brandeis UniversityWaltham, MA · private nonprofit | $39,867 | Not adjusted | $49,384 | $26,000 | 65% |
| 41 | St. Mary's UniversitySan Antonio, TX · private nonprofit | $39,752 | $40,957 | $44,831 | $26,000 | 65% |
| 42 | UW-Eau ClaireEau Claire, WI · public | $39,591 | $42,076 | $45,418 | $23,874 | 60% |
| 43 | Illinois StateNormal, IL · public | $39,563 | $39,580 | $48,567 | $23,125 | 58% |
| 44 | University of Illinois SpringfieldSpringfield, IL · public | $39,358 | $39,375 | $41,513 | $32,574 | 83% |
| 45 | Grand Valley StateAllendale, MI · public | $39,334 | $40,881 | $47,325 | $28,570 | 73% |
| 46 | Towson UniversityTowson, MD · public | $39,250 | $37,396 | $54,336 | $21,500 | 55% |
| 47 | Virginia TechBlacksburg, VA · public | $39,155 | $38,727 | $56,347 | $21,625 | 55% |
| 48 | Texas A&M-San AntonioSan Antonio, TX · public | $39,152 | $40,339 | Not reported | $19,000 | 49% |
| 49 | Keene State CollegeKeene, NH · public | $39,122 | $37,558 | $52,901 | $27,000 | 69% |
| 50 | Westminster UniversitySalt Lake City, UT · private nonprofit | $39,026 | $39,474 | Not reported | $26,750 | 69% |
| 51 | George Washington UniversityWashington, DC · private nonprofit | $38,985 | Not adjusted | $64,674 | $23,250 | 60% |
| 52 | University of UtahSalt Lake City, UT · public | $38,644 | $39,088 | $52,921 | $20,000 | 52% |
| 53 | Luther CollegeDecorah, IA · private nonprofit | $38,490 | Not adjusted | $43,688 | $27,000 | 70% |
| 54 | Lesley UniversityCambridge, MA · private nonprofit | $38,442 | $36,349 | $58,722 | $24,750 | 64% |
| 55 | Wellesley CollegeWellesley, MA · private nonprofit | $38,376 | Not adjusted | $64,206 | $12,000 | 31% |
| 56 | Iowa StateAmes, IA · public | $38,375 | $43,726 | $41,391 | $24,000 | 63% |
| 57 | University of RichmondUniversity of Richmond, VA · private nonprofit | $38,333 | Not adjusted | $55,411 | $22,980 | 60% |
| 58 | Texas Woman's UniversityDenton, TX · public | $38,171 | $39,328 | $56,422 | $28,395 | 74% |
| 59 | University of PhoenixPhoenix, AZ · private for-profit | $38,163 | Not adjusted | $42,784 | $45,880 | 120% |
| 60 | UT TylerTyler, TX · public | $38,089 | $39,244 | $35,313 | $25,250 | 66% |
| 61 | Rowan UniversityGlassboro, NJ · public | $37,815 | $34,755 | $51,853 | $26,554 | 70% |
| 62 | Westmont CollegeSanta Barbara, CA · private nonprofit | $37,806 | $34,146 | Not reported | $26,388 | 70% |
| 63 | Jacksonville StateJacksonville, AL · public | $37,774 | $42,527 | $44,413 | $23,267 | 62% |
| 64 | UW-La CrosseLa Crosse, WI · public | $37,748 | $40,117 | $47,976 | $23,250 | 62% |
| 65 | Villanova UniversityVillanova, PA · private nonprofit | $37,643 | Not adjusted | $70,587 | $26,899 | 71% |
| 66 | American Public University SystemCharles Town, WV · private for-profit | $37,602 | Not adjusted | $40,154 | $35,094 | 93% |
| 67 | UW-River FallsRiver Falls, WI · public | $37,586 | Not adjusted | $49,938 | $24,495 | 65% |
| 68 | Austin PeayClarksville, TN · public | $37,486 | $40,803 | $40,184 | $25,677 | 68% |
| 69 | South Dakota StateBrookings, SD · public | $37,252 | Not adjusted | $46,053 | $25,200 | 68% |
| 70 | New Jersey City UniversityJersey City, NJ · public | $37,244 | $34,230 | $53,839 | $26,980 | 72% |
| 71 | Framingham StateFramingham, MA · public | $37,188 | $35,164 | $44,166 | $27,000 | 73% |
| 72 | Washington & Jefferson CollegeWashington, PA · private nonprofit | $37,046 | $37,968 | $53,369 | $27,000 | 73% |
| 73 | UIUCChampaign, IL · public | $37,031 | $37,047 | $60,391 | $20,961 | 57% |
| 74 | Millersville University of PennsylvaniaMillersville, PA · public | $36,865 | $37,782 | $42,223 | $25,934 | 70% |
| 75 | Sam Houston StateHuntsville, TX · public | $36,749 | $37,863 | $49,173 | $25,250 | 69% |
| 76 | Washburn UniversityTopeka, KS · public | $36,598 | $40,634 | $38,832 | $23,000 | 63% |
| 77 | Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago, IL · public | $36,594 | $36,609 | $48,631 | $19,000 | 52% |
| 78 | University of MarylandCollege Park, MD · public | $36,561 | $34,834 | $58,415 | $21,500 | 59% |
| 79 | Gordon CollegeWenham, MA · private nonprofit | $36,462 | $34,477 | $47,430 | $27,000 | 74% |
| 80 | Whitworth UniversitySpokane, WA · private nonprofit | $36,387 | $34,002 | $55,426 | $24,642 | 68% |
| 81 | Elon UniversityElon, NC · private nonprofit | $36,302 | Not adjusted | $67,741 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 82 | Kean UniversityUnion, NJ · public | $36,257 | $33,323 | $51,764 | $30,679 | 85% |
| 83 | Augustana UniversitySioux Falls, SD · private nonprofit | $36,247 | Not adjusted | $47,658 | $26,000 | 72% |
| 84 | Nazareth UniversityRochester, NY · private nonprofit | $36,200 | $33,543 | $45,391 | $27,000 | 75% |
| 85 | Old Dominion UniversityNorfolk, VA · public | $36,054 | $35,660 | $51,643 | $28,676 | 80% |
| 86 | Emory UniversityAtlanta, GA · private nonprofit | $36,019 | Not adjusted | $62,306 | $21,000 | 58% |
| 87 | TCNJEwing, NJ · public | $35,925 | $33,018 | $56,415 | $25,000 | 70% |
| 88 | Central Connecticut StateNew Britain, CT · public | $35,859 | $34,610 | $49,870 | $27,000 | 75% |
| 89 | Columbia UniversityNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $35,838 | Not adjusted | $74,155 | $25,500 | 71% |
| 90 | UMass BostonBoston, MA · public | $35,820 | $33,870 | $48,236 | $26,960 | 75% |
| 91 | McDaniel CollegeWestminster, MD · private nonprofit | $35,793 | Not adjusted | $51,942 | $22,250 | 62% |
| 92 | University of North GeorgiaDahlonega, GA · public | $35,733 | $37,109 | $40,658 | $24,500 | 69% |
| 93 | Hofstra UniversityHempstead, NY · private nonprofit | $35,637 | $33,021 | $52,201 | $24,485 | 69% |
| 94 | UMGCAdelphi, MD · public | $35,630 | Not adjusted | $50,536 | $24,062 | 68% |
| 95 | Meredith CollegeRaleigh, NC · private nonprofit | $35,619 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,500 | 74% |
| 96 | Saint Anselm CollegeManchester, NH · private nonprofit | $35,584 | Not adjusted | $63,982 | $26,000 | 73% |
| 97 | Wayne StateDetroit, MI · public | $35,549 | $36,947 | $36,703 | $27,000 | 76% |
| 98 | Stephen F. AustinNacogdoches, TX · public | $35,502 | $36,579 | Not reported | $20,375 | 57% |
| 99 | Metropolitan State University of DenverDenver, CO · public | $35,487 | $34,436 | $44,413 | $30,000 | 85% |
| 100 | University of San FranciscoSan Francisco, CA · private nonprofit | $35,468 | $32,034 | $73,223 | $26,000 | 73% |
| 101 | University of Nebraska at KearneyKearney, NE · public | $35,419 | $39,309 | $42,524 | $24,422 | 69% |
| 102 | PurdueWest Lafayette, IN · public | $35,378 | $37,907 | Not reported | $19,500 | 55% |
| 103 | CU DenverDenver, CO · public | $35,364 | $34,317 | $47,668 | $25,586 | 72% |
| 104 | University of Central ArkansasConway, AR · public | $35,338 | $40,648 | $40,059 | $20,500 | 58% |
| 105 | Salisbury UniversitySalisbury, MD · public | $35,283 | $33,616 | $40,123 | $21,875 | 62% |
| 106 | Binghamton UniversityVestal, NY · public | $35,237 | $32,651 | $61,039 | $21,500 | 61% |
| 107 | Princeton UniversityPrinceton, NJ · private nonprofit | $35,178 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 108 | University of Minnesota-DuluthDuluth, MN · public | $35,118 | $35,609 | $44,130 | $24,191 | 69% |
| 109 | Arkansas StateJonesboro, AR · public | $35,114 | $40,390 | $44,879 | $22,125 | 63% |
| 110 | University of Southern IndianaEvansville, IN · public | $35,062 | $37,568 | $44,247 | $22,480 | 64% |
| 111 | University of RochesterRochester, NY · private nonprofit | $35,053 | Not adjusted | $49,046 | $21,000 | 60% |
| 112 | University of DallasIrving, TX · private nonprofit | $35,038 | $36,100 | $39,972 | $20,247 | 58% |
| 113 | Tarleton StateStephenville, TX · public | $34,754 | $35,808 | Not reported | $24,134 | 69% |
| 114 | UT AustinAustin, TX · public | $34,739 | $35,792 | $54,944 | $21,500 | 62% |
| 115 | Cal Poly SLOSan Luis Obispo, CA · public | $34,718 | $31,357 | $64,041 | $23,956 | 69% |
| 116 | Tufts UniversityMedford, MA · private nonprofit | $34,689 | Not adjusted | $63,266 | $14,670 | 42% |
| 117 | UW-OshkoshOshkosh, WI · public | $34,633 | $36,806 | Not reported | $26,000 | 75% |
| 117 | Vanderbilt UniversityNashville, TN · private nonprofit | $34,633 | Not adjusted | $65,369 | $13,420 | 39% |
| 119 | UCCSColorado Springs, CO · public | $34,627 | $33,601 | $43,163 | $22,000 | 64% |
| 120 | Carthage CollegeKenosha, WI · private nonprofit | $34,587 | $36,758 | $35,653 | $26,269 | 76% |
| 121 | Bridgewater StateBridgewater, MA · public | $34,569 | $32,687 | $49,785 | $27,000 | 78% |
| 122 | University of New HampshireDurham, NH · public | $34,563 | Not adjusted | $50,158 | $26,697 | 77% |
| 123 | Wofford CollegeSpartanburg, SC · private nonprofit | $34,478 | Not adjusted | $71,588 | $25,941 | 75% |
| 124 | Saint Michael's CollegeColchester, VT · private nonprofit | $34,348 | Not adjusted | $46,142 | $27,000 | 79% |
| 125 | Lehman CollegeBronx, NY · public | $34,337 | $31,817 | $46,983 | $11,391 | 33% |
| 126 | Weber StateOgden, UT · public | $34,224 | $34,617 | $48,433 | $12,399 | 36% |
| 127 | Assumption UniversityWorcester, MA · private nonprofit | $34,206 | $32,344 | $56,622 | $27,000 | 79% |
| 128 | Slippery Rock University of PennsylvaniaSlippery Rock, PA · public | $34,205 | $35,056 | $44,029 | $27,000 | 79% |
| 129 | Northern Illinois UniversityDekalb, IL · public | $34,122 | $34,136 | $44,293 | $25,375 | 74% |
| 130 | University of IowaIowa City, IA · public | $34,116 | $38,873 | $46,265 | $22,000 | 64% |
| 131 | Bucknell UniversityLewisburg, PA · private nonprofit | $34,043 | Not adjusted | $61,250 | $27,000 | 79% |
| 132 | Metropolitan State UniversitySaint Paul, MN · public | $33,999 | Not adjusted | $40,744 | $26,500 | 78% |
| 133 | Elmhurst UniversityElmhurst, IL · private nonprofit | $33,947 | $33,961 | $47,521 | $19,500 | 57% |
| 134 | Saint Louis UniversitySaint Louis, MO · private nonprofit | $33,893 | Not adjusted | $45,373 | $26,546 | 78% |
| 135 | University of MichiganAnn Arbor, MI · public | $33,742 | $35,069 | $56,880 | $16,937 | 50% |
| 136 | University of WyomingLaramie, WY · public | $33,677 | $36,333 | $43,171 | $20,415 | 61% |
| 137 | Colorado Mesa UniversityGrand Junction, CO · public | $33,622 | $32,626 | $40,725 | $22,412 | 67% |
| 138 | ASUTempe, AZ · public | $33,615 | Not adjusted | $50,363 | $25,000 | 74% |
| 139 | Clemson UniversityClemson, SC · public | $33,509 | $35,743 | $47,644 | $23,123 | 69% |
| 140 | Montana StateBozeman, MT · public | $33,483 | $35,377 | $43,101 | $20,472 | 61% |
| 141 | Gustavus Adolphus CollegeSaint Peter, MN · private nonprofit | $33,456 | $33,924 | $40,135 | $27,000 | 81% |
| 142 | UW-WhitewaterWhitewater, WI · public | $33,318 | $35,409 | $43,602 | $27,000 | 81% |
| 143 | Cornell UniversityIthaca, NY · private nonprofit | $33,270 | $30,828 | $70,443 | $16,275 | 49% |
| 144 | Northeastern StateTahlequah, OK · public | $33,266 | $37,870 | $36,553 | $24,250 | 73% |
| 145 | Auburn UniversityAuburn, AL · public | $33,213 | $37,392 | $50,686 | $25,000 | 75% |
| 146 | George MasonFairfax, VA · public | $33,173 | $32,811 | $51,160 | $22,502 | 68% |
| 147 | UH-DowntownHouston, TX · public | $33,146 | $34,151 | $43,319 | $28,000 | 84% |
| 148 | Angelo StateSan Angelo, TX · public | $33,087 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 149 | Worcester StateWorcester, MA · public | $33,022 | $31,224 | $43,186 | $26,474 | 80% |
| 150 | University of Southern MainePortland, ME · public | $33,014 | $34,018 | $42,854 | $25,000 | 76% |
| 151 | Wright StateDayton, OH · public | $33,011 | $35,582 | $42,480 | $24,140 | 73% |
| 152 | Lake Forest CollegeLake Forest, IL · private nonprofit | $32,982 | $32,996 | $54,722 | $23,250 | 70% |
| 153 | UNTDenton, TX · public | $32,892 | $33,889 | $47,966 | $21,358 | 65% |
| 154 | Liberty UniversityLynchburg, VA · private nonprofit | $32,890 | Not adjusted | $40,080 | $24,850 | 76% |
| 155 | UA Little RockLittle Rock, AR · public | $32,883 | $37,824 | $37,219 | $29,153 | 89% |
| 156 | Willamette UniversitySalem, OR · private nonprofit | $32,863 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $20,250 | 62% |
| 157 | Salem StateSalem, MA · public | $32,844 | $31,056 | $44,760 | $27,000 | 82% |
| 158 | Georgia Southern UniversityStatesboro, GA · public | $32,811 | $34,074 | $43,613 | $23,250 | 71% |
| 159 | UM-DearbornDearborn, MI · public | $32,758 | $34,046 | $55,665 | $31,000 | 95% |
| 160 | Wheaton CollegeWheaton, IL · private nonprofit | $32,723 | $32,737 | $54,198 | $21,500 | 66% |
| 161 | NC StateRaleigh, NC · public | $32,694 | $34,661 | $48,286 | $21,680 | 66% |
| 162 | Goucher CollegeBaltimore, MD · private nonprofit | $32,545 | Not adjusted | $38,049 | $26,000 | 80% |
| 163 | Sacramento StateSacramento, CA · public | $32,531 | $29,381 | $51,013 | $15,000 | 46% |
| 164 | University of DelawareNewark, DE · public | $32,487 | Not adjusted | $60,118 | $26,000 | 80% |
| 165 | Texas StateSan Marcos, TX · public | $32,482 | $33,467 | $48,448 | $22,344 | 69% |
| 166 | San Francisco StateSan Francisco, CA · public | $32,339 | $29,208 | $46,692 | $17,243 | 53% |
| 167 | Indiana StateTerre Haute, IN · public | $32,336 | $34,647 | $46,410 | $27,000 | 83% |
| 168 | Western Washington UniversityBellingham, WA · public | $32,334 | $30,215 | $48,283 | $19,500 | 60% |
| 169 | UABBirmingham, AL · public | $32,324 | $36,391 | $36,019 | $24,946 | 77% |
| 170 | Bellarmine UniversityLouisville, KY · private nonprofit | $32,295 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 84% |
| 171 | Drew UniversityMadison, NJ · private nonprofit | $32,279 | $29,667 | Not reported | $27,000 | 84% |
| 172 | IU SoutheastNew Albany, IN · public | $32,235 | Not adjusted | $38,582 | $28,663 | 89% |
| 173 | Benedictine CollegeAtchison, KS · private nonprofit | $32,214 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 84% |
| 174 | Utah StateLogan, UT · public | $32,199 | $32,569 | $48,621 | $19,500 | 61% |
| 175 | West Texas A&M UniversityCanyon, TX · public | $32,172 | $33,148 | $43,924 | $21,839 | 68% |
| 176 | University of ArizonaTucson, AZ · public | $32,155 | $31,939 | $48,554 | $18,875 | 59% |
| 177 | UMKCKansas City, MO · public | $32,054 | $35,295 | $38,810 | $24,125 | 75% |
| 178 | UNC CharlotteCharlotte, NC · public | $32,021 | $33,947 | $42,494 | $23,071 | 72% |
| 179 | University at AlbanyAlbany, NY · public | $31,940 | $29,596 | $50,340 | $26,000 | 81% |
| 180 | Eastern Illinois UniversityCharleston, IL · public | $31,933 | $31,946 | $41,363 | $25,053 | 78% |
| 181 | Northern Kentucky UniversityHighland Heights, KY · public | $31,926 | $35,411 | $35,381 | $24,585 | 77% |
| 182 | UW-Stevens PointStevens Point, WI · public | $31,896 | $33,898 | $44,245 | $24,930 | 78% |
| 183 | Duquesne UniversityPittsburgh, PA · private nonprofit | $31,887 | $32,680 | $49,461 | $26,098 | 82% |
| 184 | John Jay CollegeNew York, NY · public | $31,842 | $29,505 | $53,181 | $9,848 | 31% |
| 185 | CU BoulderBoulder, CO · public | $31,825 | $30,882 | $38,936 | $19,522 | 61% |
| 186 | University of Nebraska-LincolnLincoln, NE · public | $31,749 | $35,236 | $44,600 | $23,000 | 72% |
| 187 | Northwestern UniversityEvanston, IL · private nonprofit | $31,748 | $31,761 | $61,142 | $15,564 | 49% |
| 188 | Oakland UniversityRochester Hills, MI · public | $31,746 | $32,994 | $52,242 | $25,990 | 82% |
| 189 | UMass DartmouthNorth Dartmouth, MA · public | $31,661 | $29,937 | $53,507 | $28,500 | 90% |
| 190 | Siena UniversityLoudonville, NY · private nonprofit | $31,655 | $29,332 | $53,859 | $27,000 | 85% |
| 191 | University of WashingtonSeattle, WA · public | $31,622 | $29,550 | $57,169 | $18,017 | 57% |
| 192 | Eastern Washington UniversityCheney, WA · public | $31,592 | $29,522 | $40,964 | $18,591 | 59% |
| 193 | Middle Tennessee StateMurfreesboro, TN · public | $31,554 | $34,346 | $46,371 | $24,045 | 76% |
| 194 | University of HoustonHouston, TX · public | $31,513 | $32,469 | $51,077 | $20,375 | 65% |
| 195 | Utah Valley UniversityOrem, UT · public | $31,492 | $31,854 | $43,215 | $16,728 | 53% |
| 196 | Wake Forest UniversityWinston-Salem, NC · private nonprofit | $31,449 | Not adjusted | $66,625 | $19,500 | 62% |
| 197 | Idaho StatePocatello, ID · public | $31,441 | $32,925 | $44,106 | $25,750 | 82% |
| 198 | Southern Illinois University EdwardsvilleEdwardsville, IL · public | $31,420 | $31,433 | $45,241 | $25,250 | 80% |
| 199 | Kansas StateManhattan, KS · public | $31,364 | $34,823 | Not reported | $21,750 | 69% |
| 200 | SUNY OswegoOswego, NY · public | $31,331 | $29,031 | $52,699 | $26,289 | 84% |
| 201 | Montclair StateMontclair, NJ · public | $31,317 | $28,783 | $49,803 | $25,092 | 80% |
| 202 | University of VermontBurlington, VT · public | $31,293 | Not adjusted | $47,371 | $24,968 | 80% |
| 203 | Sonoma StateRohnert Park, CA · public | $31,282 | $28,253 | $55,586 | $18,239 | 58% |
| 204 | Saint Joseph's UniversityPhiladelphia, PA · private nonprofit | $31,266 | Not adjusted | $67,199 | $27,000 | 86% |
| 205 | University of MinnesotaMinneapolis, MN · public | $31,258 | $31,695 | $48,382 | $20,500 | 66% |
| 206 | SewaneeSewanee, TN · private nonprofit | $31,218 | Not adjusted | $43,008 | $21,175 | 68% |
| 207 | University of Central OklahomaEdmond, OK · public | $31,214 | $35,534 | Not reported | $19,125 | 61% |
| 208 | Purdue NorthwestHammond, IN · public | $31,171 | $33,399 | $44,324 | $26,279 | 84% |
| 209 | Southeastern Louisiana UniversityHammond, LA · public | $31,136 | $35,299 | $32,986 | $22,250 | 71% |
| 210 | Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiCorpus Christi, TX · public | $31,134 | $32,078 | $37,854 | $24,000 | 77% |
| 211 | Spelman CollegeAtlanta, GA · private nonprofit | $31,129 | $32,327 | $64,244 | $25,564 | 82% |
| 212 | UICChicago, IL · public | $31,066 | $31,079 | $50,974 | $18,750 | 60% |
| 213 | Southern Connecticut StateNew Haven, CT · public | $31,016 | $29,935 | $44,909 | $24,697 | 80% |
| 214 | UTSASan Antonio, TX · public | $31,004 | $31,944 | $47,446 | $25,267 | 81% |
| 215 | Texas A&MCollege Station, TX · public | $31,002 | $31,942 | $53,489 | $19,937 | 64% |
| 216 | NC A&TGreensboro, NC · public | $30,995 | $32,859 | $32,845 | $31,000 | 100% |
| 217 | Lee UniversityCleveland, TN · private nonprofit | $30,977 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 87% |
| 218 | Loyola University MarylandBaltimore, MD · private nonprofit | $30,949 | Not adjusted | $59,545 | $27,000 | 87% |
| 219 | University of CincinnatiCincinnati, OH · public | $30,946 | $33,356 | Not reported | $22,625 | 73% |
| 220 | Harvard UniversityCambridge, MA · private nonprofit | $30,838 | Not adjusted | $64,155 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 221 | College of WoosterWooster, OH · private nonprofit | $30,746 | Not adjusted | $37,753 | $26,717 | 87% |
| 222 | Seattle Pacific UniversitySeattle, WA · private nonprofit | $30,737 | Not adjusted | $40,886 | $25,701 | 84% |
| 223 | SNHUManchester, NH · private nonprofit | $30,733 | Not adjusted | $49,577 | $31,808 | 103% |
| 224 | USFTampa, FL · public | $30,696 | $29,683 | $42,211 | $20,500 | 67% |
| 225 | University of Northern ColoradoGreeley, CO · public | $30,689 | $29,780 | $47,523 | $24,557 | 80% |
| 226 | Western Illinois UniversityMacomb, IL · public | $30,652 | $30,665 | $35,909 | $23,750 | 77% |
| 227 | Eastern Connecticut StateWillimantic, CT · public | $30,616 | $29,549 | $52,209 | $27,000 | 88% |
| 228 | Stanford UniversityStanford, CA · private nonprofit | $30,544 | Not adjusted | $56,399 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 229 | University of Mary WashingtonFredericksburg, VA · public | $30,540 | $30,207 | $53,242 | $23,990 | 79% |
| 230 | University of MissouriColumbia, MO · public | $30,488 | $33,571 | $49,645 | $23,182 | 76% |
| 231 | UCFOrlando, FL · public | $30,425 | $29,421 | $44,571 | $21,501 | 71% |
| 232 | UMass LowellLowell, MA · public | $30,408 | $28,753 | $46,861 | $27,000 | 89% |
| 233 | Stockton UniversityGalloway, NJ · public | $30,338 | $27,883 | $45,743 | $25,750 | 85% |
| 234 | Tulane University of LouisianaNew Orleans, LA · private nonprofit | $30,318 | Not adjusted | $58,614 | $20,652 | 68% |
| 235 | University of DenverDenver, CO · private nonprofit | $30,246 | $29,350 | $43,097 | $25,678 | 85% |
| 236 | Marshall UniversityHuntington, WV · public | $30,195 | $33,739 | $45,421 | $27,000 | 89% |
| 237 | USC UpstateSpartanburg, SC · public | $30,150 | $32,160 | Not reported | $25,000 | 83% |
| 238 | University of Rhode IslandKingston, RI · public | $30,137 | $29,465 | $53,161 | $25,000 | 83% |
| 239 | University of DaytonDayton, OH · private nonprofit | $30,063 | Not adjusted | $53,748 | $24,398 | 81% |
| 240 | UNC Chapel HillChapel Hill, NC · public | $30,060 | $31,868 | $54,429 | $14,794 | 49% |
| 241 | Le Moyne CollegeSyracuse, NY · private nonprofit | $30,048 | $27,843 | $50,331 | $27,000 | 90% |
| 242 | St. Mary's College of MarylandSt. Mary's City, MD · public | $30,025 | $28,606 | $54,599 | $21,552 | 72% |
| 243 | NYUNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $29,967 | $27,768 | $63,792 | $22,625 | 75% |
| 244 | Kenyon CollegeGambier, OH · private nonprofit | $29,962 | Not adjusted | $44,562 | $19,000 | 63% |
| 245 | Western Carolina UniversityCullowhee, NC · public | $29,927 | $31,727 | $35,809 | $25,000 | 84% |
| 246 | Penn StateUniversity Park, PA · public | $29,848 | $30,591 | $49,973 | $26,000 | 87% |
| 247 | University of Nebraska at OmahaOmaha, NE · public | $29,685 | $32,946 | $48,948 | $17,500 | 59% |
| 248 | Massachusetts College of Liberal ArtsNorth Adams, MA · public | $29,677 | $28,061 | $44,311 | $26,000 | 88% |
| 249 | Cal State San MarcosSan Marcos, CA · public | $29,638 | $26,768 | $51,512 | $15,500 | 52% |
| 250 | Ohio StateColumbus, OH · public | $29,605 | $31,911 | $45,720 | $23,500 | 79% |
| 251 | Governors StateUniversity Park, IL · public | $29,580 | $29,592 | $47,928 | $22,520 | 76% |
| 252 | Brooklyn CollegeBrooklyn, NY · public | $29,557 | $27,388 | $43,249 | $11,557 | 39% |
| 253 | UTEPEl Paso, TX · public | $29,550 | $30,446 | $47,373 | $22,500 | 76% |
| 254 | College of CharlestonCharleston, SC · public | $29,544 | $31,514 | $46,059 | $25,000 | 85% |
| 255 | Florida StateTallahassee, FL · public | $29,534 | $28,559 | $48,487 | $20,750 | 70% |
| 256 | Pennsylvania Western UniversityCalifornia, PA · public | $29,529 | $30,264 | $41,946 | $27,000 | 91% |
| 257 | University of Arizona Global CampusChandler, AZ · public | $29,520 | Not adjusted | $39,236 | $40,559 | 137% |
| 258 | UNC GreensboroGreensboro, NC · public | $29,494 | $31,268 | $43,183 | $19,500 | 66% |
| 259 | St Lawrence UniversityCanton, NY · private nonprofit | $29,493 | Not adjusted | $46,845 | $26,000 | 88% |
| 260 | Minnesota State MoorheadMoorhead, MN · public | $29,491 | Not adjusted | $40,205 | $26,488 | 90% |
| 261 | Stony Brook UniversityStony Brook, NY · public | $29,480 | $27,316 | $53,808 | $21,606 | 73% |
| 262 | SUNY College at GeneseoGeneseo, NY · public | $29,422 | $27,263 | $48,367 | $23,500 | 80% |
| 263 | St Olaf CollegeNorthfield, MN · private nonprofit | $29,398 | $29,809 | $50,310 | $25,715 | 87% |
| 264 | Rhode Island CollegeProvidence, RI · public | $29,389 | $28,734 | $45,516 | $20,252 | 69% |
| 265 | Christopher Newport UniversityNewport News, VA · public | $29,310 | $28,990 | $53,811 | $27,000 | 92% |
| 266 | BYUProvo, UT · private nonprofit | $29,305 | $29,642 | $52,556 | $11,248 | 38% |
| 267 | University of Puget SoundTacoma, WA · private nonprofit | $29,291 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 92% |
| 268 | Wheaton College (Massachusetts)Norton, MA · private nonprofit | $29,221 | Not adjusted | $46,505 | $26,748 | 92% |
| 269 | Oregon StateCorvallis, OR · public | $29,154 | $28,206 | $44,804 | $23,667 | 81% |
| 270 | UC MercedMerced, CA · public | $29,152 | $26,329 | Not reported | $24,000 | 82% |
| 271 | East Carolina UniversityGreenville, NC · public | $29,133 | $30,885 | $43,062 | $25,400 | 87% |
| 272 | Valdosta StateValdosta, GA · public | $29,121 | $30,242 | $36,872 | $27,998 | 96% |
| 273 | John Carroll UniversityUniversity Heights, OH · private nonprofit | $29,095 | $31,361 | $45,487 | $26,188 | 90% |
| 274 | Truman StateKirksville, MO · public | $29,001 | $31,933 | $43,125 | $22,844 | 79% |
| 275 | University of LouisvilleLouisville, KY · public | $28,994 | $32,159 | $46,293 | $20,531 | 71% |
| 276 | Michigan StateEast Lansing, MI · public | $28,927 | $30,064 | $51,627 | $25,443 | 88% |
| 277 | Shippensburg University of PennsylvaniaShippensburg, PA · public | $28,924 | $29,644 | $46,672 | $27,000 | 93% |
| 278 | IU EastRichmond, IN · public | $28,920 | Not adjusted | $42,633 | $26,991 | 93% |
| 279 | Temple UniversityPhiladelphia, PA · public | $28,914 | $29,634 | $45,313 | $25,949 | 90% |
| 280 | Washington StatePullman, WA · public | $28,876 | $26,984 | $48,754 | $21,375 | 74% |
| 281 | Corban UniversitySalem, OR · private nonprofit | $28,836 | $27,898 | $38,697 | $27,000 | 94% |
| 282 | Southern Utah UniversityCedar City, UT · public | $28,818 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 283 | University of MaineOrono, ME · public | $28,727 | $29,600 | $42,127 | $23,250 | 81% |
| 284 | UW-MilwaukeeMilwaukee, WI · public | $28,690 | $30,490 | $42,815 | $26,291 | 92% |
| 285 | Northern Arizona UniversityFlagstaff, AZ · public | $28,663 | $28,470 | $47,247 | $19,250 | 67% |
| 286 | DePaul UniversityChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $28,660 | $28,672 | $54,266 | $23,499 | 82% |
| 287 | Cleveland StateCleveland, OH · public | $28,649 | $30,880 | $38,489 | $25,831 | 90% |
| 288 | Loyola ChicagoChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $28,640 | $28,652 | $55,105 | $26,000 | 91% |
| 289 | St. Joseph's University-New YorkBrooklyn, NY · private nonprofit | $28,605 | $26,505 | $50,691 | $23,125 | 81% |
| 290 | UW-MadisonMadison, WI · public | $28,526 | $30,316 | $53,044 | $20,500 | 72% |
| 291 | Queens CollegeQueens, NY · public | $28,290 | $26,214 | $54,941 | $9,500 | 34% |
| 292 | Winthrop UniversityRock Hill, SC · public | $28,219 | $30,101 | $40,259 | $24,500 | 87% |
| 293 | Commonwealth University of PennsylvaniaBloomsburg, PA · public | $28,216 | $28,918 | $39,293 | $29,725 | 105% |
| 294 | Saint Cloud StateSaint Cloud, MN · public | $28,145 | $28,539 | $38,235 | $21,482 | 76% |
| 295 | BYU-IdahoRexburg, ID · private nonprofit | $28,025 | Not adjusted | $40,714 | $14,000 | 50% |
| 296 | Hunter CollegeNew York, NY · public | $27,958 | $25,906 | $52,636 | $12,431 | 44% |
| 297 | SUNY BrockportBrockport, NY · public | $27,954 | $25,902 | $48,403 | $26,090 | 93% |
| 298 | Western Kentucky UniversityBowling Green, KY · public | $27,950 | $31,001 | $38,385 | $23,232 | 83% |
| 299 | UCLALos Angeles, CA · public | $27,889 | $25,189 | $59,794 | $14,376 | 52% |
| 300 | Hamline UniversitySaint Paul, MN · private nonprofit | $27,863 | Not adjusted | $52,010 | $26,439 | 95% |
| 301 | Plymouth StatePlymouth, NH · public | $27,833 | $26,720 | $44,639 | $27,000 | 97% |
| 302 | Portland StatePortland, OR · public | $27,819 | $26,914 | $47,120 | $24,546 | 88% |
| 303 | Oklahoma StateStillwater, OK · public | $27,775 | $31,619 | Not reported | $22,500 | 81% |
| 304 | SUNY OneontaOneonta, NY · public | $27,593 | $25,568 | $51,482 | $24,920 | 90% |
| 305 | Wichita StateWichita, KS · public | $27,585 | $30,627 | $29,802 | $25,976 | 94% |
| 306 | William Paterson University of New JerseyWayne, NJ · public | $27,573 | $25,342 | $47,825 | $25,724 | 93% |
| 307 | Colorado StateFort Collins, CO · public | $27,549 | $26,733 | $47,320 | $20,500 | 74% |
| 308 | UMBCBaltimore, MD · public | $27,547 | $26,245 | $55,284 | $19,500 | 71% |
| 309 | University of South Carolina AikenAiken, SC · public | $27,546 | $29,383 | Not reported | $27,000 | 98% |
| 310 | UC BerkeleyBerkeley, CA · public | $27,462 | $24,803 | $59,480 | $13,500 | 49% |
| 311 | CSUNNorthridge, CA · public | $27,452 | $24,794 | $48,364 | $18,000 | 66% |
| 312 | University of North FloridaJacksonville, FL · public | $27,396 | $26,492 | $43,520 | $16,945 | 62% |
| 313 | Miami UniversityOxford, OH · public | $27,356 | $29,487 | $50,146 | $27,000 | 99% |
| 314 | Franciscan University of SteubenvilleSteubenville, OH · private nonprofit | $27,354 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,000 | 95% |
| 315 | UConnStorrs, CT · public | $27,335 | $26,383 | $56,658 | $24,529 | 90% |
| 316 | University of Nevada-Las VegasLas Vegas, NV · public | $27,315 | $27,321 | $41,763 | $23,008 | 84% |
| 317 | IU IndianapolisIndianapolis, IN · public | $27,234 | $29,181 | $43,309 | $26,000 | 95% |
| 318 | Fairfield UniversityFairfield, CT · private nonprofit | $27,206 | Not adjusted | $63,905 | $27,000 | 99% |
| 319 | Shepherd UniversityShepherdstown, WV · public | $27,186 | $30,376 | Not reported | $19,661 | 72% |
| 320 | SUNY Old WestburyOld Westbury, NY · public | $27,142 | $25,150 | $49,987 | $16,912 | 62% |
| 321 | Moravian UniversityBethlehem, PA · private nonprofit | $27,135 | $27,810 | Not reported | $27,000 | 100% |
| 322 | Randolph-Macon CollegeAshland, VA · private nonprofit | $27,110 | Not adjusted | $47,262 | $26,922 | 99% |
| 323 | St. John Fisher UniversityRochester, NY · private nonprofit | $27,105 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $23,625 | 87% |
| 324 | Florida Gulf Coast UniversityFort Myers, FL · public | $27,097 | $26,202 | $48,650 | $16,144 | 60% |
| 325 | City College of New YorkNew York, NY · public | $27,082 | $25,094 | $56,288 | $13,782 | 51% |
| 326 | Chico StateChico, CA · public | $27,045 | $24,426 | $49,955 | $15,950 | 59% |
| 327 | FIUMiami, FL · public | $27,037 | $26,144 | $46,248 | $18,871 | 70% |
| 328 | VCURichmond, VA · public | $27,005 | $26,710 | $46,439 | $22,750 | 84% |
| 329 | Lewis & Clark CollegePortland, OR · private nonprofit | $26,998 | $26,120 | Not reported | $25,750 | 95% |
| 330 | University of South DakotaVermillion, SD · public | $26,957 | Not adjusted | $44,704 | $26,000 | 96% |
| 331 | University of FloridaGainesville, FL · public | $26,917 | $26,028 | $53,428 | $16,950 | 63% |
| 332 | Kennesaw StateKennesaw, GA · public | $26,801 | $27,833 | $44,112 | $27,000 | 101% |
| 333 | Baldwin Wallace UniversityBerea, OH · private nonprofit | $26,760 | $28,844 | $43,682 | $27,000 | 101% |
| 334 | IU BloomingtonBloomington, IN · public | $26,694 | $28,602 | $48,352 | $18,948 | 71% |
| 335 | Fordham UniversityBronx, NY · private nonprofit | $26,652 | $24,696 | $62,603 | $27,000 | 101% |
| 336 | Ball StateMuncie, IN · public | $26,572 | $28,471 | $39,232 | $24,750 | 93% |
| 337 | College of Staten IslandStaten Island, NY · public | $26,548 | $24,599 | $58,175 | $17,371 | 65% |
| 338 | Texas TechLubbock, TX · public | $26,518 | $27,322 | $55,277 | $20,500 | 77% |
| 339 | University of TennesseeKnoxville, TN · public | $26,476 | $28,819 | $44,483 | $22,990 | 87% |
| 340 | CUNY York CollegeJamaica, NY · public | $26,460 | Not adjusted | $49,169 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 341 | Dominican University New YorkOrangeburg, NY · private nonprofit | $26,422 | $24,483 | $58,937 | $28,500 | 108% |
| 342 | University of ArkansasFayetteville, AR · public | $26,369 | $30,331 | $42,652 | $21,500 | 82% |
| 343 | East Stroudsburg University of PennsylvaniaEast Stroudsburg, PA · public | $26,350 | $27,006 | $50,819 | $27,000 | 102% |
| 344 | Whittier CollegeWhittier, CA · private nonprofit | $26,317 | Not adjusted | $32,702 | $25,000 | 95% |
| 345 | RutgersNew Brunswick, NJ · public | $26,310 | $24,181 | $54,246 | $25,125 | 95% |
| 346 | Georgia CollegeMilledgeville, GA · public | $26,308 | $27,321 | $46,391 | $25,250 | 96% |
| 347 | University of North AlabamaFlorence, AL · public | $26,213 | $29,512 | $42,599 | $25,000 | 95% |
| 348 | University of KansasLawrence, KS · public | $26,184 | $29,071 | $42,597 | $23,500 | 90% |
| 349 | California Baptist UniversityRiverside, CA · private nonprofit | $26,123 | $23,594 | $42,948 | $20,500 | 78% |
| 350 | Skidmore CollegeSaratoga Springs, NY · private nonprofit | $26,058 | Not adjusted | $52,273 | $20,000 | 77% |
| 351 | Drury UniversitySpringfield, MO · private nonprofit | $26,057 | $28,692 | $31,398 | $26,215 | 101% |
| 352 | JMUHarrisonburg, VA · public | $26,049 | $25,765 | $49,084 | $22,500 | 86% |
| 353 | UC IrvineIrvine, CA · public | $26,021 | $23,502 | $52,508 | $18,176 | 70% |
| 354 | University of MemphisMemphis, TN · public | $25,948 | $28,244 | $41,064 | $23,708 | 91% |
| 355 | Connecticut CollegeNew London, CT · private nonprofit | $25,936 | Not adjusted | $57,334 | $25,227 | 97% |
| 356 | Troy UniversityTroy, AL · public | $25,888 | $29,146 | $32,570 | $25,924 | 100% |
| 357 | Hollins UniversityRoanoke, VA · private nonprofit | $25,876 | Not adjusted | $33,412 | $27,000 | 104% |
| 358 | Syracuse UniversitySyracuse, NY · private nonprofit | $25,860 | $23,962 | $64,086 | $26,750 | 103% |
| 359 | Rollins CollegeWinter Park, FL · private nonprofit | $25,777 | $24,926 | $44,944 | $26,000 | 101% |
| 360 | University of South CarolinaColumbia, SC · public | $25,729 | $27,445 | $46,297 | $26,000 | 101% |
| 361 | Fort Lewis CollegeDurango, CO · public | $25,718 | Not adjusted | $42,504 | $16,250 | 63% |
| 362 | Xavier UniversityCincinnati, OH · private nonprofit | $25,683 | Not adjusted | $58,293 | $26,798 | 104% |
| 363 | Mississippi StateMississippi State, MS · public | $25,651 | Not adjusted | $42,693 | $21,500 | 84% |
| 364 | Marist UniversityPoughkeepsie, NY · private nonprofit | $25,615 | Not adjusted | $51,953 | $27,000 | 105% |
| 365 | Mercy UniversityDobbs Ferry, NY · private nonprofit | $25,612 | $23,732 | $65,759 | $27,000 | 105% |
| 366 | Whitman CollegeWalla Walla, WA · private nonprofit | $25,574 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 367 | Georgia StateAtlanta, GA · public | $25,559 | $26,543 | $48,208 | $27,513 | 108% |
| 368 | Murray StateMurray, KY · public | $25,543 | Not adjusted | $42,652 | $26,000 | 102% |
| 369 | Dickinson CollegeCarlisle, PA · private nonprofit | $25,510 | Not adjusted | $59,365 | $19,000 | 74% |
| 370 | UC DavisDavis, CA · public | $25,477 | $23,010 | $50,377 | $13,900 | 55% |
| 371 | Eastern Michigan UniversityYpsilanti, MI · public | $25,412 | $26,411 | $48,087 | $31,000 | 122% |
| 372 | Radford UniversityRadford, VA · public | $25,407 | $25,130 | $43,198 | $21,500 | 85% |
| 373 | Central Michigan UniversityMount Pleasant, MI · public | $25,367 | $26,364 | $43,271 | $27,500 | 108% |
| 374 | Coastal Carolina UniversityConway, SC · public | $25,310 | $26,998 | $39,198 | $26,000 | 103% |
| 375 | UL LafayetteLafayette, LA · public | $25,271 | $28,650 | $47,658 | $25,340 | 100% |
| 376 | Trinity UniversitySan Antonio, TX · private nonprofit | $25,216 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $21,500 | 85% |
| 377 | Minnesota State MankatoMankato, MN · public | $25,136 | Not adjusted | $44,646 | $25,000 | 99% |
| 378 | St. John's UniversityQueens, NY · private nonprofit | $25,109 | $23,266 | $53,772 | $27,000 | 108% |
| 379 | Texas A&M International UniversityLaredo, TX · public | $25,077 | $25,837 | $44,097 | $15,727 | 63% |
| 380 | Southwestern UniversityGeorgetown, TX · private nonprofit | $25,060 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 381 | University of AlabamaTuscaloosa, AL · public | $25,045 | Not adjusted | $44,593 | $22,250 | 89% |
| 382 | University of West FloridaPensacola, FL · public | $25,035 | $24,209 | $35,798 | $14,000 | 56% |
| 383 | Smith CollegeNorthampton, MA · private nonprofit | $25,023 | Not adjusted | $53,422 | $19,000 | 76% |
| 384 | SUNY PlattsburghPlattsburgh, NY · public | $24,995 | Not adjusted | $39,399 | $21,024 | 84% |
| 385 | Boise StateBoise, ID · public | $24,861 | $26,034 | $40,337 | $26,000 | 105% |
| 386 | Purdue Fort WayneFort Wayne, IN · public | $24,853 | $26,629 | $37,112 | $17,888 | 72% |
| 387 | University of New MexicoAlbuquerque, NM · public | $24,808 | $26,903 | $44,977 | $15,064 | 61% |
| 388 | University of Nevada-RenoReno, NV · public | $24,797 | $24,802 | $43,667 | $26,155 | 105% |
| 389 | Cal State Channel IslandsCamarillo, CA · public | $24,748 | $22,352 | $44,572 | $14,961 | 60% |
| 390 | Morehouse CollegeAtlanta, GA · private nonprofit | $24,659 | Not adjusted | $57,480 | $26,000 | 105% |
| 391 | Vassar CollegePoughkeepsie, NY · private nonprofit | $24,614 | Not adjusted | $58,430 | $19,000 | 77% |
| 392 | UC San DiegoLa Jolla, CA · public | $24,523 | $22,149 | Not reported | $14,800 | 60% |
| 393 | UMass AmherstAmherst, MA · public | $24,521 | $23,186 | $56,872 | $23,950 | 98% |
| 394 | CSU PuebloPueblo, CO · public | $24,498 | Not adjusted | $38,952 | $26,000 | 106% |
| 395 | Ole MissUniversity, MS · public | $24,389 | $28,048 | $37,297 | $19,537 | 80% |
| 396 | UNC WilmingtonWilmington, NC · public | $24,384 | $25,851 | $49,569 | $24,636 | 101% |
| 397 | Ursinus CollegeCollegeville, PA · private nonprofit | $24,373 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 398 | LSUBaton Rouge, LA · public | $24,355 | $27,611 | $43,853 | $21,625 | 89% |
| 399 | Kalamazoo CollegeKalamazoo, MI · private nonprofit | $24,329 | $25,286 | $48,592 | $25,456 | 105% |
| 400 | University of ToledoToledo, OH · public | $24,301 | $26,194 | $40,728 | $21,750 | 90% |
| 401 | Alma CollegeAlma, MI · private nonprofit | $24,280 | Not adjusted | $40,063 | $27,000 | 111% |
| 402 | Columbia College (Missouri)Columbia, MO · private nonprofit | $24,240 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $30,251 | 125% |
| 403 | UTRGVEdinburg, TX · public | $24,187 | $24,920 | $51,271 | $17,625 | 73% |
| 404 | San Diego StateSan Diego, CA · public | $24,157 | $21,818 | $50,504 | $14,997 | 62% |
| 405 | Southern Illinois University-CarbondaleCarbondale, IL · public | $24,145 | $24,155 | $36,811 | $26,500 | 110% |
| 406 | UC Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara, CA · public | $24,099 | $21,766 | $58,240 | $17,550 | 73% |
| 407 | University of West GeorgiaCarrollton, GA · public | $24,055 | $24,981 | $34,350 | $26,657 | 111% |
| 408 | Fresno StateFresno, CA · public | $24,010 | $21,685 | $41,960 | $15,000 | 62% |
| 409 | Columbus StateColumbus, GA · public | $23,987 | $24,910 | $42,702 | $29,114 | 121% |
| 410 | Regent UniversityVirginia Beach, VA · private nonprofit | $23,986 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 113% |
| 411 | University of AkronAkron, OH · public | $23,923 | $25,786 | $44,077 | $28,250 | 118% |
| 412 | Valparaiso UniversityValparaiso, IN · private nonprofit | $23,909 | Not adjusted | $49,723 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 413 | SUNY New PaltzNew Paltz, NY · public | $23,862 | $22,111 | $49,665 | $25,000 | 105% |
| 414 | Cal State LALos Angeles, CA · public | $23,858 | $21,548 | $49,932 | $14,750 | 62% |
| 415 | Hope CollegeHolland, MI · private nonprofit | $23,815 | $24,751 | Not reported | $25,396 | 107% |
| 416 | Cal State FullertonFullerton, CA · public | $23,783 | $21,480 | $46,143 | $13,812 | 58% |
| 417 | Occidental CollegeLos Angeles, CA · private nonprofit | $23,605 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 418 | Boston UniversityBoston, MA · private nonprofit | $23,579 | Not adjusted | $55,841 | $26,395 | 112% |
| 419 | Appalachian StateBoone, NC · public | $23,397 | $24,804 | $37,977 | $21,430 | 92% |
| 420 | FAUBoca Raton, FL · public | $23,264 | $22,496 | $48,408 | $17,912 | 77% |
| 421 | Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, CA · public | $23,250 | $20,999 | $37,159 | $13,875 | 60% |
| 422 | WVUMorgantown, WV · public | $23,182 | $25,903 | $41,351 | $21,250 | 92% |
| 423 | UC RiversideRiverside, CA · public | $23,139 | $20,899 | $57,551 | $18,284 | 79% |
| 424 | University of GeorgiaAthens, GA · public | $23,022 | $23,908 | $50,356 | $21,500 | 93% |
| 425 | UT ChattanoogaChattanooga, TN · public | $22,999 | $25,034 | $44,017 | $22,796 | 99% |
| 426 | Cal State Long BeachLong Beach, CA · public | $22,933 | $20,713 | $53,709 | $13,749 | 60% |
| 427 | Clayton StateMorrow, GA · public | $22,874 | $23,755 | $46,084 | $22,638 | 99% |
| 428 | Youngstown StateYoungstown, OH · public | $22,831 | $24,609 | $48,573 | $28,000 | 123% |
| 429 | Mount Holyoke CollegeSouth Hadley, MA · private nonprofit | $22,680 | Not adjusted | $42,639 | $23,000 | 101% |
| 430 | Clark UniversityWorcester, MA · private nonprofit | $22,670 | Not adjusted | $41,952 | $26,619 | 117% |
| 431 | Messiah UniversityMechanicsburg, PA · private nonprofit | $22,621 | Not adjusted | $46,412 | $26,000 | 115% |
| 432 | Indiana University of PennsylvaniaIndiana, PA · public | $22,588 | $23,150 | $47,461 | $27,280 | 121% |
| 433 | University of San DiegoSan Diego, CA · private nonprofit | $22,475 | $20,299 | $56,908 | $24,000 | 107% |
| 434 | Belmont UniversityNashville, TN · private nonprofit | $22,360 | Not adjusted | $39,149 | $24,250 | 108% |
| 435 | Kent StateKent, OH · public | $22,318 | $24,056 | $36,870 | $26,000 | 116% |
| 436 | University of ScrantonScranton, PA · private nonprofit | $22,159 | Not adjusted | $45,626 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 437 | Nicholls StateThibodaux, LA · public | $22,030 | Not adjusted | $36,865 | $27,625 | 125% |
| 438 | East Tennessee StateJohnson City, TN · public | $21,836 | $23,768 | $33,670 | $16,598 | 76% |
| 439 | Bowling Green StateBowling Green, OH · public | $21,825 | $23,525 | $35,048 | $24,455 | 112% |
| 440 | Biola UniversityLa Mirada, CA · private nonprofit | $21,624 | Not adjusted | $48,370 | $24,500 | 113% |
| 441 | Stetson UniversityDeLand, FL · private nonprofit | $21,520 | $20,810 | $45,287 | $26,000 | 121% |
| 442 | University of MontanaMissoula, MT · public | $21,447 | $22,660 | $41,456 | $23,000 | 107% |
| 443 | University of KentuckyLexington, KY · public | $21,404 | $23,740 | $42,565 | $21,250 | 99% |
| 444 | Missouri StateSpringfield, MO · public | $21,392 | $23,555 | $36,439 | $25,000 | 117% |
| 445 | Flagler CollegeSaint Augustine, FL · private nonprofit | $21,236 | Not adjusted | $37,707 | $26,051 | 123% |
| 446 | University at BuffaloBuffalo, NY · public | $21,208 | $19,651 | $44,686 | $19,583 | 92% |
| 447 | UL MonroeMonroe, LA · public | $20,834 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $19,873 | 95% |
| 448 | Carleton CollegeNorthfield, MN · private nonprofit | $20,780 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $21,167 | 102% |
| 449 | UH ManoaHonolulu, HI · public | $20,570 | $18,708 | $40,242 | $13,625 | 66% |
| 450 | Duke UniversityDurham, NC · private nonprofit | $20,483 | Not adjusted | $78,024 | $15,362 | 75% |
| 451 | University of New OrleansNew Orleans, LA · public | $20,265 | $22,974 | $33,356 | $23,125 | 114% |
| 452 | Eastern Kentucky UniversityRichmond, KY · public | $20,091 | $22,284 | $37,665 | $23,648 | 118% |
| 453 | Manhattan UniversityRiverdale, NY · private nonprofit | $20,013 | Not adjusted | $48,499 | $27,000 | 135% |
| 454 | Guilford CollegeGreensboro, NC · private nonprofit | $19,742 | Not adjusted | $32,044 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 455 | Oberlin CollegeOberlin, OH · private nonprofit | $19,734 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,000 | 132% |
| 456 | Harding UniversitySearcy, AR · private nonprofit | $19,588 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 138% |
| 457 | Texas A&M-VictoriaVictoria, TX · public | $19,493 | $20,084 | Not reported | $32,395 | 166% |
| 458 | University of La VerneLa Verne, CA · private nonprofit | $19,382 | $17,505 | Not reported | $27,000 | 139% |
| 459 | Loyola Marymount UniversityLos Angeles, CA · private nonprofit | $19,346 | $17,473 | $66,697 | $22,565 | 117% |
| 460 | University of MiamiCoral Gables, FL · private nonprofit | $19,314 | Not adjusted | $70,837 | $16,750 | 87% |
| 461 | UNC AshevilleAsheville, NC · public | $19,136 | $20,287 | $35,906 | $23,752 | 124% |
| 462 | Midwestern StateWichita Falls, TX · public | $18,781 | Not adjusted | $42,974 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 463 | Hendrix CollegeConway, AR · private nonprofit | $18,668 | Not adjusted | $49,035 | $27,000 | 145% |
| 464 | Muhlenberg CollegeAllentown, PA · private nonprofit | $17,062 | Not adjusted | $61,699 | $27,000 | 158% |
| 465 | Furman UniversityGreenville, SC · private nonprofit | $16,583 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 466 | University of Oklahoma-Norman CampusNorman, OK · public | $16,242 | Not adjusted | $47,814 | $20,500 | 126% |
| 467 | Reed CollegePortland, OR · private nonprofit | $15,790 | Not adjusted | $30,743 | $19,500 | 123% |
| 468 | Stanislaus StateTurlock, CA · public | $14,407 | $13,012 | $63,144 | $13,000 | 90% |
| 469 | Cal Poly HumboldtArcata, CA · public | $13,896 | $12,551 | $38,092 | $17,000 | 122% |
| 470 | Berea CollegeBerea, KY · private nonprofit | $13,403 | Not adjusted | $37,404 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 471 | UPR MayaguezMayaguez, PR · public | $7,780 | Not adjusted | $30,673 | $7,500 | 96% |
Pay after cost of living divides first-year pay by the Bureau of Economic Analysis price level of the school's state, where the US average is 100. It is shown for 336 programs where at least half of the graduates who work are working in the school's state. The other 135, whose graduates mostly work in other states or whose state has no price level, are listed last when you sort by it.
23 programs report pay but not debt, so they are ranked only by pay.
College Scorecard withholds pay for programs with too few graduates, to protect their privacy, so those programs can't be ranked.
English (Bachelor's) programs by state
Each row is the median across the state's English bachelor's programs. State names link to the full ranking of that state's programs.
| # | State | Programs | Year 1 pay | Debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | New Jersey | 13 | $35,925 | $25,875 |
| 2 | Maryland | 9 | $35,283 | $23,156 |
| 3 | New Hampshire | 6 | $35,074 | $26,849 |
| 4 | Massachusetts | 28 | $34,629 | $26,619 |
| 5 | Wisconsin | 10 | $34,610 | $24,965 |
| 6 | Utah | 8 | $33,212 | $16,728 |
| 7 | Texas | 30 | $32,990 | $21,500 |
| 8 | Alabama | 8 | $32,769 | $24,973 |
| 9 | Illinois | 18 | $32,328 | $23,499 |
| 10 | Arizona | 5 | $32,155 | $25,000 |
| 11 | Virginia | 16 | $31,715 | $23,485 |
| 12 | Washington | 9 | $31,592 | $21,375 |
| 13 | Kansas | 5 | $31,364 | $23,500 |
| 14 | Colorado | 10 | $31,257 | $24,500 |
| 15 | Connecticut | 7 | $30,616 | $27,000 |
| 16 | Indiana | 12 | $30,046 | $25,375 |
| 17 | North Carolina | 15 | $29,927 | $23,071 |
| 18 | Arkansas | 6 | $29,626 | $22,500 |
| 19 | Pennsylvania | 23 | $29,529 | $27,000 |
| 20 | Minnesota | 10 | $29,445 | $25,715 |
| 21 | Missouri | 7 | $29,001 | $24,125 |
| 22 | Michigan | 11 | $28,927 | $27,000 |
| 23 | Tennessee | 10 | $28,727 | $22,893 |
| 24 | Oregon | 6 | $28,328 | $23,521 |
| 25 | New York | 41 | $28,290 | $23,844 |
| 26 | South Carolina | 9 | $28,219 | $25,471 |
| 27 | Ohio | 18 | $27,355 | $26,000 |
| 28 | Florida | 13 | $26,917 | $19,686 |
| 29 | Kentucky | 8 | $26,747 | $23,648 |
| 30 | Georgia | 13 | $26,308 | $25,564 |
| 31 | California | 35 | $25,477 | $18,176 |
| 32 | Louisiana | 7 | $24,355 | $22,250 |
Programs in 18 more states and territories report pay, but too few to rank. A state ranking needs at least five programs that report both pay and debt.
Quick picks nationwide
Lowest median debt
- Queens College, NY$9,500
- John Jay College, NY$9,848
- BYU, UT$11,248
- Lehman College, NY$11,391
- Brooklyn College, NY$11,557
- Wellesley College, MA$12,000
- Weber State, UT$12,399
- Hunter College, NY$12,431
- Stanislaus State, CA$13,000
- Williams College, MA$13,125
Lowest debt for the pay
- Williams College, MA27%
- East Texas A&M University, TX31%
- John Jay College, NY31%
- UH-Clear Lake, TX31%
- Wellesley College, MA31%
- Colgate University, NY33%
- Lehman College, NY33%
- Queens College, NY34%
- Weber State, UT36%
- UVA, VA37%
Only the 406 programs with their own page here are included. "Debt for the pay" is median debt divided by first-year pay.
Careers this field leads to
These are the jobs that the federal crosswalk from fields of study to occupations links to English, largest first. Pay is the median across the US and all experience levels.
Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
$72,040Median pay in the US. 1,065,210 people work in this job in the US. Nationally, jobs are projected to stay about the same in number from 2025 to 2035, with about 63,500 openings a year. Typical education to start: bachelor's degree.
Proofreaders and Copy Markers
$51,120Median pay in the US. 4,580 people work in this job in the US. Nationally, jobs are projected to shrink 1% from 2025 to 2035, with about 1,100 openings a year. Typical education to start: bachelor's degree.
Common questions
The median English bachelor's program in the US pays its graduates $30,195 in their first year and $47,348 five years after.
New Jersey, where the median program pays its graduates $35,925 in their first year, the highest of 32 state rankings. Maryland is next, at $35,283.
Georgetown University in District of Columbia reports the highest first-year pay of the 471 programs ranked here, $52,122. Its median federal debt is $16,500.
The median program leaves its graduates with $24,498 in federal debt. Across programs, the median debt is 77% of first-year pay.
About this data
- Earnings and debt only include students who received federal financial aid, and earnings only count graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school.
- Debt only includes federal loans. Private loans and credit cards are not counted.
- Medians are across programs, not students: each program counts once, however many graduates it has.
- National medians include every program in the 50 states, DC, and US territories, including schools that have since closed. Schools with several campuses that report one combined figure are counted once.
- Programs are ranked by College Scorecard median pay one year after graduation. Pay after cost of living uses the price level of the school's state.
- Scorecard figures describe graduating classes from several years ago. BLS wages are from May 2025. Price levels are the Bureau of Economic Analysis Regional Price Parities for 2024.
Sources
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field of study and institution files, June 2026 release
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Employment Projections 2025 to 2035
- NCES, CIP 2020 to SOC 2018 crosswalk
- Bureau of Economic Analysis, Regional Price Parities, 2024