Highest-Paying Sociology (Bachelor's) Programs in the US
- 397 programs report first-year pay
- 26 state rankings
- Bachelor's in Sociology
College Scorecard June 2026 release · BLS wages May 2025
The short answer
The median sociology bachelor's program in the US pays its graduates $34,099 in their first year and $50,382 five years after. Minnesota has the highest state median ($40,540), and Louisiana the lowest ($27,846). The median program leaves its graduates with $25,000 in federal debt.
All 397 programs, ranked by graduate pay
Each program is ranked by the median pay of its graduates one year after they finished, from College Scorecard. This measures what graduates earn, not how good the teaching is. Pay also depends on where graduates live and work. Programs that don't report a figure are listed last when you sort by it.
| # | School | Year 1 pay | After cost of living | Year 5 pay | Debt | Debt to pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dartmouth CollegeHanover, NH · private nonprofit | $64,377 | Not adjusted | $74,367 | $19,250 | 30% |
| 2 | Columbia UniversityNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $58,541 | $54,244 | $93,017 | $31,000 | 53% |
| 3 | Santa Clara UniversitySanta Clara, CA · private nonprofit | $53,612 | $48,421 | $77,833 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 4 | Colgate UniversityHamilton, NY · private nonprofit | $51,788 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 | Trinity CollegeHartford, CT · private nonprofit | $50,077 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 6 | King's CollegeWilkes-Barre, PA · private nonprofit | $48,529 | Not adjusted | $52,876 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 7 | Barnard CollegeNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $48,215 | Not adjusted | $75,086 | $15,899 | 33% |
| 8 | Boston CollegeChestnut Hill, MA · private nonprofit | $48,091 | Not adjusted | $83,459 | $19,000 | 40% |
| 9 | Tufts UniversityMedford, MA · private nonprofit | $47,859 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $15,000 | 31% |
| 10 | Bowdoin CollegeBrunswick, ME · private nonprofit | $47,749 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 11 | American Public University SystemCharles Town, WV · private for-profit | $47,633 | Not adjusted | $55,096 | $29,278 | 61% |
| 12 | TCNJEwing, NJ · public | $46,953 | Not adjusted | $67,732 | $24,208 | 52% |
| 13 | Adams StateAlamosa, CO · public | $46,948 | $45,558 | Not reported | $29,441 | 63% |
| 14 | National UniversitySan Diego, CA · private nonprofit | $46,505 | $42,002 | $54,674 | $28,125 | 60% |
| 15 | Wake Forest UniversityWinston-Salem, NC · private nonprofit | $46,257 | Not adjusted | $62,340 | $23,000 | 50% |
| 16 | UVACharlottesville, VA · public | $45,786 | $45,286 | $68,316 | $20,500 | 45% |
| 17 | Duke UniversityDurham, NC · private nonprofit | $45,551 | Not adjusted | $75,020 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 18 | Brandeis UniversityWaltham, MA · private nonprofit | $45,287 | Not adjusted | $63,066 | $27,000 | 60% |
| 19 | Winona StateWinona, MN · public | $43,505 | Not adjusted | $46,926 | $21,687 | 50% |
| 20 | University of Arizona Global CampusChandler, AZ · public | $43,202 | Not adjusted | $43,545 | $39,041 | 90% |
| 21 | Western Colorado UniversityGunnison, CO · public | $43,178 | Not adjusted | $52,935 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 22 | Miami UniversityOxford, OH · public | $43,150 | $46,511 | $54,109 | $23,500 | 54% |
| 23 | Kansas StateManhattan, KS · public | $42,985 | $47,725 | $53,046 | $25,946 | 60% |
| 24 | Minnesota State MoorheadMoorhead, MN · public | $42,984 | Not adjusted | $56,526 | $27,000 | 63% |
| 25 | Lehman CollegeBronx, NY · public | $42,710 | $39,575 | $52,108 | $11,247 | 26% |
| 26 | University of KansasLawrence, KS · public | $42,703 | Not adjusted | $60,399 | $23,001 | 54% |
| 27 | Chicago StateChicago, IL · public | $42,687 | Not adjusted | $44,616 | $38,087 | 89% |
| 28 | Occidental CollegeLos Angeles, CA · private nonprofit | $42,653 | $38,523 | $62,892 | $21,250 | 50% |
| 29 | University of Rhode IslandKingston, RI · public | $42,554 | Not adjusted | $62,936 | $23,250 | 55% |
| 30 | University of CincinnatiCincinnati, OH · public | $42,507 | $45,818 | Not reported | $24,250 | 57% |
| 31 | Bates CollegeLewiston, ME · private nonprofit | $42,170 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $12,610 | 30% |
| 32 | Minnesota State MankatoMankato, MN · public | $42,108 | $42,697 | $53,226 | $27,000 | 64% |
| 33 | University of New HampshireDurham, NH · public | $42,048 | Not adjusted | $56,595 | $27,000 | 64% |
| 34 | Metropolitan State University of DenverDenver, CO · public | $42,022 | $40,777 | $55,444 | $26,000 | 62% |
| 35 | Northeastern UniversityBoston, MA · private nonprofit | $41,624 | Not adjusted | $59,603 | $27,000 | 65% |
| 36 | UM-FlintFlint, MI · public | $41,460 | Not adjusted | $42,356 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 37 | University of Northern IowaCedar Falls, IA · public | $41,250 | $47,002 | $50,306 | $24,594 | 60% |
| 38 | Brooklyn CollegeBrooklyn, NY · public | $41,062 | $38,048 | $58,167 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 39 | University of Nebraska at OmahaOmaha, NE · public | $40,871 | $45,360 | $53,523 | $26,750 | 65% |
| 40 | UC BerkeleyBerkeley, CA · public | $40,774 | $36,826 | $78,070 | $13,131 | 32% |
| 41 | San Francisco StateSan Francisco, CA · public | $40,763 | $36,816 | $61,399 | $15,000 | 37% |
| 42 | Mount Holyoke CollegeSouth Hadley, MA · private nonprofit | $40,675 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $21,000 | 52% |
| 43 | Iowa StateAmes, IA · public | $40,602 | $46,264 | $57,753 | $21,935 | 54% |
| 44 | UMass BostonBoston, MA · public | $40,569 | $38,361 | $55,944 | $28,750 | 71% |
| 45 | CUNY York CollegeJamaica, NY · public | $40,515 | $37,541 | $54,250 | $14,650 | 36% |
| 46 | Mount Saint Mary's UniversityLos Angeles, CA · private nonprofit | $40,451 | $36,535 | $61,463 | $29,250 | 72% |
| 46 | North Dakota StateFargo, ND · public | $40,451 | Not adjusted | $48,327 | $27,750 | 69% |
| 48 | John Jay CollegeNew York, NY · public | $40,401 | $37,436 | Not reported | $14,125 | 35% |
| 49 | University of Southern IndianaEvansville, IN · public | $40,255 | Not adjusted | $49,040 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 50 | South Dakota StateBrookings, SD · public | $40,236 | $45,420 | $45,610 | $26,000 | 65% |
| 51 | Mount St. Mary's UniversityEmmitsburg, MD · private nonprofit | $40,196 | $38,297 | Not reported | $27,000 | 67% |
| 52 | American UniversityWashington, DC · private nonprofit | $40,119 | Not adjusted | $62,954 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 53 | Georgetown UniversityWashington, DC · private nonprofit | $40,079 | Not adjusted | $57,169 | $13,266 | 33% |
| 54 | University of WashingtonSeattle, WA · public | $40,062 | $37,437 | $67,391 | $19,286 | 48% |
| 55 | ASUTempe, AZ · public | $40,029 | Not adjusted | $49,636 | $25,500 | 64% |
| 56 | McKendree UniversityLebanon, IL · private nonprofit | $40,015 | $40,032 | $49,911 | $27,000 | 67% |
| 57 | CU DenverDenver, CO · public | $40,011 | $38,826 | $53,879 | $31,000 | 77% |
| 58 | Salem StateSalem, MA · public | $39,822 | $37,654 | $55,337 | $30,690 | 77% |
| 59 | Washington StatePullman, WA · public | $39,801 | $37,193 | $50,035 | $21,475 | 54% |
| 60 | Randolph-Macon CollegeAshland, VA · private nonprofit | $39,656 | $39,223 | $48,640 | $27,000 | 68% |
| 61 | UT AustinAustin, TX · public | $39,621 | $40,822 | $60,618 | $23,000 | 58% |
| 62 | Eastern Illinois UniversityCharleston, IL · public | $39,547 | $39,564 | $49,650 | $25,817 | 65% |
| 63 | Saint Leo UniversitySaint Leo, FL · private nonprofit | $39,498 | Not adjusted | $49,759 | $46,960 | 119% |
| 64 | UMBCBaltimore, MD · public | $39,435 | $37,572 | $62,279 | $24,250 | 61% |
| 65 | Cal State East BayHayward, CA · public | $39,378 | $35,565 | $61,001 | $18,654 | 47% |
| 66 | Chapman UniversityOrange, CA · private nonprofit | $39,278 | $35,475 | $70,118 | $20,500 | 52% |
| 67 | Oregon StateCorvallis, OR · public | $39,193 | $37,919 | $52,350 | $21,882 | 56% |
| 68 | University of MontanaMissoula, MT · public | $39,160 | $41,376 | $45,532 | $24,650 | 63% |
| 69 | SUNY PlattsburghPlattsburgh, NY · public | $39,079 | Not adjusted | $51,423 | $25,940 | 66% |
| 70 | Roanoke CollegeSalem, VA · private nonprofit | $38,983 | $38,557 | Not reported | $27,000 | 69% |
| 71 | University of MinnesotaMinneapolis, MN · public | $38,972 | $39,517 | $52,443 | $20,377 | 52% |
| 72 | George MasonFairfax, VA · public | $38,916 | $38,491 | $58,321 | $20,514 | 53% |
| 73 | Bowie StateBowie, MD · public | $38,893 | $37,055 | $46,473 | $30,835 | 79% |
| 74 | Virginia TechBlacksburg, VA · public | $38,768 | $38,345 | $53,098 | $22,859 | 59% |
| 75 | Syracuse UniversitySyracuse, NY · private nonprofit | $38,632 | $35,797 | $72,358 | $24,750 | 64% |
| 76 | Massachusetts College of Liberal ArtsNorth Adams, MA · public | $38,631 | $36,528 | $47,673 | $27,000 | 70% |
| 77 | Eastern Connecticut StateWillimantic, CT · public | $38,523 | $37,181 | $45,995 | $26,000 | 67% |
| 78 | Boston UniversityBoston, MA · private nonprofit | $38,457 | Not adjusted | $71,736 | $26,750 | 70% |
| 79 | Texas Woman's UniversityDenton, TX · public | $38,438 | $39,604 | $50,004 | $33,719 | 88% |
| 80 | Northwestern UniversityEvanston, IL · private nonprofit | $38,402 | $38,418 | $57,736 | $14,567 | 38% |
| 81 | St. John's UniversityQueens, NY · private nonprofit | $38,216 | Not adjusted | $55,129 | $27,000 | 71% |
| 82 | Fort Hays StateHays, KS · public | $38,075 | Not adjusted | $47,473 | $33,482 | 88% |
| 83 | Lamar UniversityBeaumont, TX · public | $38,042 | $39,196 | Not reported | $36,615 | 96% |
| 84 | Central CollegePella, IA · private nonprofit | $38,034 | Not adjusted | $47,227 | $25,000 | 66% |
| 84 | Ohio StateColumbus, OH · public | $38,034 | $40,996 | $52,440 | $21,739 | 57% |
| 86 | CU BoulderBoulder, CO · public | $37,958 | $36,834 | $59,670 | $17,819 | 47% |
| 87 | Old Dominion UniversityNorfolk, VA · public | $37,946 | $37,532 | $52,363 | $26,100 | 69% |
| 88 | Sonoma StateRohnert Park, CA · public | $37,896 | $34,227 | $62,652 | $18,000 | 47% |
| 89 | UW-Stevens PointStevens Point, WI · public | $37,888 | $40,266 | $48,344 | $25,968 | 69% |
| 90 | SUNY Old WestburyOld Westbury, NY · public | $37,826 | $35,050 | $43,184 | $23,503 | 62% |
| 91 | Suffolk UniversityBoston, MA · private nonprofit | $37,802 | $35,744 | $57,937 | $27,000 | 71% |
| 92 | Franklin CollegeFranklin, IN · private nonprofit | $37,759 | $40,458 | Not reported | $27,000 | 72% |
| 93 | Columbia College (Missouri)Columbia, MO · private nonprofit | $37,758 | Not adjusted | $45,544 | $32,276 | 85% |
| 94 | Baylor UniversityWaco, TX · private nonprofit | $37,753 | $38,898 | $48,488 | $25,937 | 69% |
| 95 | McDaniel CollegeWestminster, MD · private nonprofit | $37,728 | Not adjusted | $54,923 | $25,000 | 66% |
| 96 | University of Central OklahomaEdmond, OK · public | $37,727 | $42,948 | $47,138 | $28,000 | 74% |
| 97 | SUNY College at GeneseoGeneseo, NY · public | $37,600 | $34,840 | $51,153 | $21,226 | 56% |
| 98 | Commonwealth University of PennsylvaniaBloomsburg, PA · public | $37,461 | $38,393 | $48,773 | $29,119 | 78% |
| 99 | CSU PuebloPueblo, CO · public | $37,389 | $36,282 | $52,003 | $23,000 | 62% |
| 100 | UT ArlingtonArlington, TX · public | $37,338 | $38,470 | $54,592 | $30,941 | 83% |
| 101 | Colorado StateFort Collins, CO · public | $37,335 | $36,229 | $56,681 | $23,000 | 62% |
| 102 | Assumption UniversityWorcester, MA · private nonprofit | $37,279 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 72% |
| 103 | Texas StateSan Marcos, TX · public | $37,263 | $38,393 | $50,392 | $25,000 | 67% |
| 104 | UC MercedMerced, CA · public | $37,092 | $33,501 | $49,395 | $17,515 | 47% |
| 105 | Sacramento StateSacramento, CA · public | $37,040 | $33,454 | $58,159 | $16,100 | 43% |
| 106 | Chico StateChico, CA · public | $36,992 | $33,410 | $46,999 | $16,049 | 43% |
| 107 | Christopher Newport UniversityNewport News, VA · public | $36,977 | $36,573 | $58,418 | $25,548 | 69% |
| 108 | Arcadia UniversityGlenside, PA · private nonprofit | $36,919 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 109 | John Carroll UniversityUniversity Heights, OH · private nonprofit | $36,845 | Not adjusted | $57,774 | $27,000 | 73% |
| 110 | PurdueWest Lafayette, IN · public | $36,826 | $39,458 | $53,174 | $20,500 | 56% |
| 111 | Wilkes UniversityWilkes-Barre, PA · private nonprofit | $36,814 | $37,730 | $47,908 | $26,000 | 71% |
| 112 | UMKCKansas City, MO · public | $36,810 | Not adjusted | $47,082 | $20,799 | 57% |
| 113 | University of Nebraska-LincolnLincoln, NE · public | $36,809 | $40,852 | $53,358 | $19,400 | 53% |
| 114 | Rhode Island CollegeProvidence, RI · public | $36,742 | $35,923 | $49,819 | $21,100 | 57% |
| 115 | Cornell UniversityIthaca, NY · private nonprofit | $36,709 | Not adjusted | $65,655 | $11,900 | 32% |
| 116 | Rider UniversityLawrenceville, NJ · private nonprofit | $36,705 | Not adjusted | $53,633 | $27,000 | 74% |
| 117 | Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago, IL · public | $36,686 | $36,701 | $46,230 | $17,457 | 48% |
| 118 | Saint Michael's CollegeColchester, VT · private nonprofit | $36,605 | Not adjusted | $50,749 | $27,000 | 74% |
| 119 | Montana StateBozeman, MT · public | $36,595 | $38,666 | $46,595 | $22,250 | 61% |
| 120 | College of the Holy CrossWorcester, MA · private nonprofit | $36,583 | $34,592 | $68,340 | $26,449 | 72% |
| 121 | Keene State CollegeKeene, NH · public | $36,581 | Not adjusted | $48,536 | $26,000 | 71% |
| 122 | Cal State Channel IslandsCamarillo, CA · public | $36,557 | $33,018 | $58,859 | $15,000 | 41% |
| 123 | Ohio UniversityAthens, OH · public | $36,506 | $39,349 | $49,966 | $25,000 | 68% |
| 124 | SUNY College at PotsdamPotsdam, NY · public | $36,500 | $33,821 | $50,221 | $26,000 | 71% |
| 125 | University of San DiegoSan Diego, CA · private nonprofit | $36,476 | $32,944 | $59,681 | $26,000 | 71% |
| 126 | Central Washington UniversityEllensburg, WA · public | $36,466 | $34,076 | $57,042 | $25,000 | 69% |
| 127 | UC San DiegoLa Jolla, CA · public | $36,464 | $32,934 | $60,237 | $14,413 | 40% |
| 128 | UW-MilwaukeeMilwaukee, WI · public | $36,452 | $38,740 | $49,160 | $26,000 | 71% |
| 129 | Kean UniversityUnion, NJ · public | $36,432 | $33,484 | $44,762 | $27,000 | 74% |
| 130 | UW-WhitewaterWhitewater, WI · public | $36,411 | $38,696 | $49,424 | $26,250 | 72% |
| 131 | Gettysburg CollegeGettysburg, PA · private nonprofit | $36,396 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $22,747 | 62% |
| 132 | Clemson UniversityClemson, SC · public | $36,320 | $38,742 | $52,266 | $26,125 | 72% |
| 133 | La Salle UniversityPhiladelphia, PA · private nonprofit | $36,319 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,500 | 76% |
| 134 | University of UtahSalt Lake City, UT · public | $36,308 | $36,725 | $52,418 | $15,071 | 42% |
| 135 | University of Nevada-RenoReno, NV · public | $36,295 | $36,303 | $37,153 | $16,750 | 46% |
| 136 | Beloit CollegeBeloit, WI · private nonprofit | $36,222 | Not adjusted | $43,179 | $27,000 | 75% |
| 137 | Kennesaw StateKennesaw, GA · public | $36,212 | $37,606 | $46,359 | $34,375 | 95% |
| 138 | University of San FranciscoSan Francisco, CA · private nonprofit | $36,183 | $32,680 | $60,747 | $25,000 | 69% |
| 139 | University of Northern ColoradoGreeley, CO · public | $36,077 | $35,009 | $44,905 | $27,000 | 75% |
| 140 | Loyola Marymount UniversityLos Angeles, CA · private nonprofit | $35,993 | $32,508 | $65,669 | $19,500 | 54% |
| 141 | Providence CollegeProvidence, RI · private nonprofit | $35,983 | Not adjusted | $66,380 | $27,000 | 75% |
| 142 | Saint Norbert CollegeDe Pere, WI · private nonprofit | $35,981 | Not adjusted | $49,653 | $26,000 | 72% |
| 143 | East Stroudsburg University of PennsylvaniaEast Stroudsburg, PA · public | $35,932 | $36,826 | $62,726 | $27,000 | 75% |
| 144 | University of Oklahoma-Norman CampusNorman, OK · public | $35,917 | $40,888 | $52,753 | $24,172 | 67% |
| 145 | Notre DameNotre Dame, IN · private nonprofit | $35,915 | Not adjusted | $88,792 | $19,800 | 55% |
| 146 | UW-MadisonMadison, WI · public | $35,889 | $38,141 | $60,766 | $17,802 | 50% |
| 147 | Drury UniversitySpringfield, MO · private nonprofit | $35,881 | $39,509 | $39,909 | $33,900 | 94% |
| 148 | Texas A&MCollege Station, TX · public | $35,848 | $36,935 | $56,269 | $19,000 | 53% |
| 149 | University of New MexicoAlbuquerque, NM · public | $35,796 | $38,819 | $44,905 | $23,141 | 65% |
| 150 | University of North FloridaJacksonville, FL · public | $35,728 | $34,549 | $49,470 | $23,250 | 65% |
| 151 | University of TennesseeKnoxville, TN · public | $35,723 | $38,884 | $49,839 | $20,013 | 56% |
| 152 | UW-ParksideKenosha, WI · public | $35,710 | Not adjusted | $38,842 | $26,250 | 74% |
| 153 | Bridgewater StateBridgewater, MA · public | $35,680 | $33,738 | $48,932 | $27,000 | 76% |
| 154 | USCLos Angeles, CA · private nonprofit | $35,580 | $32,135 | $67,128 | $10,324 | 29% |
| 155 | William Paterson University of New JerseyWayne, NJ · public | $35,528 | $32,653 | $52,509 | $25,531 | 72% |
| 156 | NC StateRaleigh, NC · public | $35,510 | $37,646 | Not reported | $22,787 | 64% |
| 157 | University of Mary WashingtonFredericksburg, VA · public | $35,499 | $35,111 | $58,027 | $23,500 | 66% |
| 158 | Southern Illinois University EdwardsvilleEdwardsville, IL · public | $35,415 | $35,430 | $55,821 | $26,500 | 75% |
| 159 | BYUProvo, UT · private nonprofit | $35,404 | $35,811 | $64,510 | $14,000 | 40% |
| 160 | University of La VerneLa Verne, CA · private nonprofit | $35,403 | $31,975 | $48,624 | $23,415 | 66% |
| 161 | Western Michigan UniversityKalamazoo, MI · public | $35,399 | $36,791 | $58,151 | $25,585 | 72% |
| 162 | Auburn UniversityAuburn, AL · public | $35,378 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $22,250 | 63% |
| 163 | Purdue NorthwestHammond, IN · public | $35,334 | $37,860 | $40,654 | $24,500 | 69% |
| 164 | Pacific Lutheran UniversityTacoma, WA · private nonprofit | $35,317 | $33,003 | $58,698 | $21,000 | 59% |
| 165 | Tennessee Technological UniversityCookeville, TN · public | $35,293 | $38,416 | $43,101 | $16,057 | 45% |
| 166 | Smith CollegeNorthampton, MA · private nonprofit | $35,252 | Not adjusted | $48,634 | $19,000 | 54% |
| 167 | Wichita StateWichita, KS · public | $35,236 | $39,122 | $37,333 | $30,500 | 87% |
| 168 | Northern Illinois UniversityDekalb, IL · public | $35,150 | $35,165 | $49,637 | $27,000 | 77% |
| 169 | San Diego StateSan Diego, CA · public | $35,136 | $31,734 | $50,363 | $12,500 | 36% |
| 170 | Skidmore CollegeSaratoga Springs, NY · private nonprofit | $35,128 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $9,200 | 26% |
| 171 | SUNY Purchase CollegePurchase, NY · public | $35,124 | $32,546 | $46,700 | $19,949 | 57% |
| 172 | Saint Xavier UniversityChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $35,103 | $35,118 | $51,583 | $27,000 | 77% |
| 173 | Michigan StateEast Lansing, MI · public | $35,055 | $36,433 | $60,828 | $26,985 | 77% |
| 174 | Penn StateUniversity Park, PA · public | $35,016 | $35,887 | $56,535 | $26,000 | 74% |
| 175 | UMSLSaint Louis, MO · public | $34,942 | $38,475 | $46,104 | $26,686 | 76% |
| 176 | UCFOrlando, FL · public | $34,926 | $33,773 | $46,721 | $26,307 | 75% |
| 177 | University of KentuckyLexington, KY · public | $34,922 | $38,734 | $42,327 | $26,000 | 74% |
| 178 | Columbus StateColumbus, GA · public | $34,899 | $36,243 | $43,568 | $38,400 | 110% |
| 179 | Tennessee StateNashville, TN · public | $34,884 | $37,971 | Not reported | $37,500 | 107% |
| 180 | Millersville University of PennsylvaniaMillersville, PA · public | $34,883 | $35,751 | $52,356 | $26,000 | 75% |
| 181 | Hofstra UniversityHempstead, NY · private nonprofit | $34,832 | Not adjusted | $61,906 | $25,968 | 75% |
| 182 | University of MemphisMemphis, TN · public | $34,822 | $37,904 | $38,489 | $29,250 | 84% |
| 183 | Cal State FullertonFullerton, CA · public | $34,714 | $31,353 | $52,832 | $13,917 | 40% |
| 184 | University of ArizonaTucson, AZ · public | $34,671 | $34,438 | $48,571 | $20,125 | 58% |
| 185 | Georgia Southern UniversityStatesboro, GA · public | $34,627 | $35,960 | $43,129 | $26,500 | 77% |
| 186 | Augsburg UniversityMinneapolis, MN · private nonprofit | $34,543 | $35,026 | Not reported | $27,000 | 78% |
| 187 | Cal State San MarcosSan Marcos, CA · public | $34,541 | $31,197 | $51,480 | $15,000 | 43% |
| 188 | Morehead StateMorehead, KY · public | $34,511 | $38,278 | $39,101 | $25,000 | 72% |
| 189 | Cleveland StateCleveland, OH · public | $34,490 | $37,176 | $42,169 | $25,575 | 74% |
| 189 | Kutztown University of PennsylvaniaKutztown, PA · public | $34,490 | $35,348 | $44,129 | $28,000 | 81% |
| 191 | UICChicago, IL · public | $34,435 | $34,449 | $52,284 | $19,315 | 56% |
| 192 | University of West GeorgiaCarrollton, GA · public | $34,393 | $35,717 | $41,213 | $28,875 | 84% |
| 193 | UC Santa BarbaraSanta Barbara, CA · public | $34,372 | $31,044 | $59,183 | $13,500 | 39% |
| 194 | Cal State Dominguez HillsCarson, CA · public | $34,350 | $31,024 | $50,994 | $15,000 | 44% |
| 195 | RutgersNew Brunswick, NJ · public | $34,344 | $31,565 | $52,960 | $24,405 | 71% |
| 196 | University of MarylandCollege Park, MD · public | $34,150 | $32,537 | $60,642 | $20,460 | 60% |
| 197 | UCLALos Angeles, CA · public | $34,121 | $30,817 | $64,677 | $14,500 | 42% |
| 198 | Arkansas StateJonesboro, AR · public | $34,105 | $39,230 | $41,995 | $38,064 | 112% |
| 199 | William Penn UniversityOskaloosa, IA · private nonprofit | $34,099 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $28,963 | 85% |
| 200 | CSUNNorthridge, CA · public | $34,093 | $30,792 | $53,371 | $13,000 | 38% |
| 201 | Cal State LALos Angeles, CA · public | $34,092 | $30,791 | $54,833 | $12,500 | 37% |
| 202 | WVUMorgantown, WV · public | $34,063 | Not adjusted | $44,783 | $24,223 | 71% |
| 203 | UNC PembrokePembroke, NC · public | $34,051 | $36,099 | $43,822 | $28,526 | 84% |
| 204 | UC IrvineIrvine, CA · public | $34,050 | $30,753 | $56,549 | $15,000 | 44% |
| 205 | Ramapo College of New JerseyMahwah, NJ · public | $34,034 | $31,280 | $57,252 | $20,750 | 61% |
| 206 | Loyola ChicagoChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $34,004 | $34,018 | $61,830 | $22,250 | 65% |
| 207 | Texas A&M-San AntonioSan Antonio, TX · public | $33,945 | $34,974 | Not reported | $17,458 | 51% |
| 208 | Hamline UniversitySaint Paul, MN · private nonprofit | $33,894 | $34,368 | $49,733 | $27,000 | 80% |
| 209 | Framingham StateFramingham, MA · public | $33,885 | $32,040 | $56,071 | $27,000 | 80% |
| 210 | Winthrop UniversityRock Hill, SC · public | $33,877 | $36,136 | $34,926 | $27,000 | 80% |
| 211 | University of TampaTampa, FL · private nonprofit | $33,872 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $23,000 | 68% |
| 212 | SUNY CortlandCortland, NY · public | $33,837 | $31,353 | $59,571 | $25,379 | 75% |
| 213 | University of MichiganAnn Arbor, MI · public | $33,832 | $35,162 | $64,923 | $18,568 | 55% |
| 214 | Florida StateTallahassee, FL · public | $33,783 | $32,668 | $49,700 | $22,164 | 66% |
| 215 | Central Connecticut StateNew Britain, CT · public | $33,724 | $32,549 | $55,614 | $28,500 | 85% |
| 216 | Gonzaga UniversitySpokane, WA · private nonprofit | $33,675 | Not adjusted | $58,415 | $25,991 | 77% |
| 217 | DePaul UniversityChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $33,644 | $33,658 | $58,090 | $24,500 | 73% |
| 218 | Illinois StateNormal, IL · public | $33,636 | $33,650 | $54,799 | $25,000 | 74% |
| 218 | Worcester StateWorcester, MA · public | $33,636 | $31,805 | $54,599 | $24,975 | 74% |
| 220 | University of FloridaGainesville, FL · public | $33,611 | $32,501 | $51,030 | $18,929 | 56% |
| 221 | SUNY BrockportBrockport, NY · public | $33,566 | $31,102 | $45,897 | $24,456 | 73% |
| 221 | University of ArkansasFayetteville, AR · public | $33,566 | $38,610 | $51,122 | $24,225 | 72% |
| 223 | University of Nevada-Las VegasLas Vegas, NV · public | $33,553 | $33,560 | $53,539 | $22,750 | 68% |
| 224 | Fayetteville StateFayetteville, NC · public | $33,544 | $35,562 | $40,617 | $31,888 | 95% |
| 225 | Rosemont CollegeRosemont, PA · private nonprofit | $33,537 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $28,125 | 84% |
| 226 | UW-La CrosseLa Crosse, WI · public | $33,529 | $35,633 | $51,024 | $25,000 | 75% |
| 227 | USFTampa, FL · public | $33,516 | $32,410 | $48,972 | $25,721 | 77% |
| 228 | University at AlbanyAlbany, NY · public | $33,433 | $30,979 | $53,268 | $24,358 | 73% |
| 229 | Temple UniversityPhiladelphia, PA · public | $33,427 | $34,259 | $48,805 | $26,000 | 78% |
| 230 | University of RedlandsRedlands, CA · private nonprofit | $33,421 | $30,185 | $46,405 | $24,500 | 73% |
| 231 | University of MissouriColumbia, MO · public | $33,386 | $36,762 | $51,854 | $22,500 | 67% |
| 232 | Oklahoma StateStillwater, OK · public | $33,365 | $37,983 | $45,997 | $24,751 | 74% |
| 233 | UNTDenton, TX · public | $33,334 | $34,345 | $56,174 | $21,782 | 65% |
| 234 | SUNY OswegoOswego, NY · public | $33,258 | $30,817 | $42,232 | $27,282 | 82% |
| 235 | Shepherd UniversityShepherdstown, WV · public | $33,190 | Not adjusted | $56,868 | $20,030 | 60% |
| 236 | SUNY OneontaOneonta, NY · public | $33,072 | $30,645 | $55,715 | $22,248 | 67% |
| 237 | Western Washington UniversityBellingham, WA · public | $33,039 | $30,874 | $48,943 | $20,087 | 61% |
| 238 | Ball StateMuncie, IN · public | $32,973 | $35,330 | $50,157 | $22,198 | 67% |
| 239 | McMurry UniversityAbilene, TX · private nonprofit | $32,956 | $33,955 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 240 | Arkansas Tech UniversityRussellville, AR · public | $32,924 | $37,871 | $48,474 | $23,180 | 70% |
| 241 | Princeton UniversityPrinceton, NJ · private nonprofit | $32,914 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 242 | Stony Brook UniversityStony Brook, NY · public | $32,912 | $30,496 | $63,549 | $21,250 | 65% |
| 243 | University of LouisvilleLouisville, KY · public | $32,818 | $36,400 | $45,142 | $23,000 | 70% |
| 244 | UTSASan Antonio, TX · public | $32,787 | $33,781 | $44,427 | $24,490 | 75% |
| 245 | VCURichmond, VA · public | $32,781 | $32,423 | $46,863 | $26,285 | 80% |
| 246 | Western Kentucky UniversityBowling Green, KY · public | $32,762 | $36,338 | $41,047 | $26,529 | 81% |
| 247 | IU KokomoKokomo, IN · public | $32,740 | $35,080 | Not reported | $20,993 | 64% |
| 248 | Utah StateLogan, UT · public | $32,730 | $33,106 | $40,750 | $18,450 | 56% |
| 249 | Whitworth UniversitySpokane, WA · private nonprofit | $32,727 | $30,582 | $47,400 | $26,873 | 82% |
| 250 | University of GeorgiaAthens, GA · public | $32,530 | $33,782 | $54,538 | $20,625 | 63% |
| 251 | Fordham UniversityBronx, NY · private nonprofit | $32,511 | $30,125 | $66,658 | $25,000 | 77% |
| 252 | College of WoosterWooster, OH · private nonprofit | $32,462 | Not adjusted | $48,433 | $27,000 | 83% |
| 253 | Doane UniversityCrete, NE · private nonprofit | $32,351 | $35,904 | $48,182 | $26,000 | 80% |
| 254 | Pennsylvania Western UniversityCalifornia, PA · public | $32,325 | $33,129 | $46,240 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 255 | Indiana University of PennsylvaniaIndiana, PA · public | $32,323 | $33,127 | $39,930 | $27,000 | 84% |
| 256 | Montclair StateMontclair, NJ · public | $32,268 | $29,657 | $48,455 | $25,000 | 77% |
| 257 | Texas TechLubbock, TX · public | $32,207 | $33,184 | $52,686 | $25,000 | 78% |
| 258 | Frostburg StateFrostburg, MD · public | $32,165 | $30,645 | $59,641 | $27,000 | 84% |
| 259 | UC DavisDavis, CA · public | $32,137 | $29,025 | $59,319 | $12,600 | 39% |
| 260 | Grand Valley StateAllendale, MI · public | $32,132 | $33,395 | $47,684 | $26,000 | 81% |
| 261 | Salisbury UniversitySalisbury, MD · public | $32,091 | $30,575 | Not reported | $23,625 | 74% |
| 262 | New Jersey City UniversityJersey City, NJ · public | $32,082 | $29,486 | $47,043 | $25,781 | 80% |
| 263 | Stonehill CollegeEaston, MA · private nonprofit | $32,057 | Not adjusted | $60,844 | $26,980 | 84% |
| 264 | Centenary UniversityHackettstown, NJ · private nonprofit | $32,049 | $29,455 | $59,060 | $27,000 | 84% |
| 265 | Southern Connecticut StateNew Haven, CT · public | $32,013 | $30,898 | $50,533 | $26,000 | 81% |
| 266 | Queens CollegeQueens, NY · public | $31,975 | $29,628 | $59,743 | $15,750 | 49% |
| 267 | East Carolina UniversityGreenville, NC · public | $31,928 | $33,849 | $48,880 | $25,750 | 81% |
| 268 | UConnStorrs, CT · public | $31,913 | $30,801 | $60,962 | $22,500 | 71% |
| 269 | UNC CharlotteCharlotte, NC · public | $31,897 | $33,816 | $46,040 | $26,798 | 84% |
| 270 | University of Central ArkansasConway, AR · public | $31,867 | $36,655 | $44,484 | $26,372 | 83% |
| 271 | University of Maryland Eastern ShorePrincess Anne, MD · public | $31,853 | $30,348 | $50,870 | $28,000 | 88% |
| 272 | Missouri StateSpringfield, MO · public | $31,819 | $35,036 | $43,970 | $25,191 | 79% |
| 273 | University of VermontBurlington, VT · public | $31,798 | Not adjusted | $50,113 | $23,117 | 73% |
| 274 | University of Mount Saint VincentBronx, NY · private nonprofit | $31,763 | $29,432 | $58,108 | $25,500 | 80% |
| 275 | Austin PeayClarksville, TN · public | $31,699 | $34,504 | $47,222 | $27,375 | 86% |
| 276 | UMass AmherstAmherst, MA · public | $31,686 | $29,961 | $53,702 | $25,000 | 79% |
| 277 | Dominican UniversityRiver Forest, IL · private nonprofit | $31,657 | $31,670 | $51,989 | $27,000 | 85% |
| 278 | East Texas A&M UniversityCommerce, TX · public | $31,620 | $32,579 | $40,628 | $26,490 | 84% |
| 279 | Appalachian StateBoone, NC · public | $31,559 | $33,457 | $44,662 | $20,606 | 65% |
| 280 | UH-DowntownHouston, TX · public | $31,555 | $32,512 | Not reported | $27,375 | 87% |
| 281 | Manhattanville UniversityPurchase, NY · private nonprofit | $31,551 | $29,235 | $59,627 | $26,000 | 82% |
| 282 | UIUCChampaign, IL · public | $31,548 | $31,561 | $61,548 | $21,154 | 67% |
| 283 | JMUHarrisonburg, VA · public | $31,513 | $31,169 | $56,440 | $19,168 | 61% |
| 284 | Bowling Green StateBowling Green, OH · public | $31,484 | $33,936 | $44,936 | $27,000 | 86% |
| 285 | Morgan StateBaltimore, MD · public | $31,470 | $29,983 | $48,735 | $27,000 | 86% |
| 286 | Franklin and Marshall CollegeLancaster, PA · private nonprofit | $31,444 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $19,000 | 60% |
| 287 | University of IdahoMoscow, ID · public | $31,440 | $32,924 | $46,543 | $23,572 | 75% |
| 288 | Northern Arizona UniversityFlagstaff, AZ · public | $31,410 | $31,199 | $52,287 | $25,000 | 80% |
| 289 | Morehouse CollegeAtlanta, GA · private nonprofit | $31,391 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $29,500 | 94% |
| 290 | Wayne StateDetroit, MI · public | $31,381 | $32,615 | $48,799 | $30,422 | 97% |
| 291 | New Mexico StateLas Cruces, NM · public | $31,376 | $34,026 | $41,470 | $24,986 | 80% |
| 292 | BYU-IdahoRexburg, ID · private nonprofit | $31,353 | Not adjusted | $51,399 | $14,600 | 47% |
| 293 | Cal State Long BeachLong Beach, CA · public | $31,270 | $28,242 | $53,402 | $12,831 | 41% |
| 294 | Lander UniversityGreenwood, SC · public | $31,243 | $33,326 | $42,898 | $30,622 | 98% |
| 295 | FAMUTallahassee, FL · public | $31,167 | $30,138 | $41,210 | $27,090 | 87% |
| 296 | FIUMiami, FL · public | $31,147 | $30,119 | $48,741 | $24,000 | 77% |
| 297 | IU IndianapolisIndianapolis, IN · public | $30,939 | $33,150 | $45,038 | $24,539 | 79% |
| 298 | University of HoustonHouston, TX · public | $30,723 | $31,655 | $56,477 | $18,500 | 60% |
| 299 | UNC Chapel HillChapel Hill, NC · public | $30,623 | $32,465 | $57,345 | $14,925 | 49% |
| 300 | University of North AlabamaFlorence, AL · public | $30,591 | $34,440 | Not reported | $26,750 | 87% |
| 301 | Nicholls StateThibodaux, LA · public | $30,583 | $34,672 | $39,634 | $26,074 | 85% |
| 302 | University of North GeorgiaDahlonega, GA · public | $30,576 | $31,753 | Not reported | $25,000 | 82% |
| 303 | University of South CarolinaColumbia, SC · public | $30,517 | $32,552 | $43,426 | $27,000 | 88% |
| 304 | Emory UniversityAtlanta, GA · private nonprofit | $30,516 | Not adjusted | $65,354 | $20,500 | 67% |
| 305 | Binghamton UniversityVestal, NY · public | $30,455 | $28,220 | $47,028 | $25,500 | 84% |
| 306 | Cal Poly PomonaPomona, CA · public | $30,432 | $27,486 | $57,178 | $13,300 | 44% |
| 307 | California Baptist UniversityRiverside, CA · private nonprofit | $30,430 | $27,484 | $51,977 | $27,000 | 89% |
| 308 | Cal Poly SLOSan Luis Obispo, CA · public | $30,401 | $27,458 | $75,585 | $16,750 | 55% |
| 309 | Fresno StateFresno, CA · public | $30,378 | $27,437 | $45,384 | $11,114 | 37% |
| 310 | IU BloomingtonBloomington, IN · public | $30,296 | $32,462 | $51,247 | $19,464 | 64% |
| 311 | Augustana CollegeRock Island, IL · private nonprofit | $30,290 | Not adjusted | $47,770 | $26,497 | 87% |
| 312 | University of MaineOrono, ME · public | $30,283 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,175 | 86% |
| 313 | University of PittsburghPittsburgh, PA · public | $30,274 | $31,027 | $48,866 | $25,000 | 83% |
| 314 | Hunter CollegeNew York, NY · public | $30,246 | $28,026 | $61,050 | $10,750 | 36% |
| 315 | McNeese StateLake Charles, LA · public | $30,183 | $34,218 | $44,679 | $35,375 | 117% |
| 316 | Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, CA · public | $30,126 | $27,209 | $49,287 | $13,852 | 46% |
| 317 | UW-Eau ClaireEau Claire, WI · public | $30,111 | Not adjusted | $37,242 | $21,500 | 71% |
| 318 | Biola UniversityLa Mirada, CA · private nonprofit | $30,092 | $27,178 | $54,914 | $26,990 | 90% |
| 319 | University of OregonEugene, OR · public | $30,050 | $29,073 | $53,713 | $23,592 | 79% |
| 320 | Wheaton College (Massachusetts)Norton, MA · private nonprofit | $29,953 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 90% |
| 321 | Midwestern StateWichita Falls, TX · public | $29,922 | Not adjusted | $45,329 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 322 | Eastern Michigan UniversityYpsilanti, MI · public | $29,919 | $31,095 | $46,350 | $35,155 | 118% |
| 323 | Rowan UniversityGlassboro, NJ · public | $29,863 | $27,446 | $53,424 | $25,000 | 84% |
| 324 | Clayton StateMorrow, GA · public | $29,834 | $30,983 | Not reported | $40,687 | 136% |
| 325 | North Central CollegeNaperville, IL · private nonprofit | $29,714 | $29,726 | $50,634 | $27,000 | 91% |
| 325 | University of DelawareNewark, DE · public | $29,714 | $29,771 | $60,435 | $24,661 | 83% |
| 327 | Azusa Pacific UniversityAzusa, CA · private nonprofit | $29,683 | $26,809 | $44,267 | $21,515 | 72% |
| 328 | FAUBoca Raton, FL · public | $29,679 | $28,699 | $49,360 | $21,227 | 72% |
| 329 | Duquesne UniversityPittsburgh, PA · private nonprofit | $29,661 | Not adjusted | $55,087 | $26,983 | 91% |
| 330 | University of South Carolina AikenAiken, SC · public | $29,438 | $31,401 | $40,850 | $28,750 | 98% |
| 331 | UC RiversideRiverside, CA · public | $29,367 | $26,524 | $53,798 | $16,500 | 56% |
| 332 | Emporia StateEmporia, KS · public | $29,313 | Not adjusted | $45,194 | $27,000 | 92% |
| 333 | Willamette UniversitySalem, OR · private nonprofit | $29,312 | Not adjusted | $49,057 | $24,881 | 85% |
| 334 | UNC WilmingtonWilmington, NC · public | $29,220 | $30,978 | $47,645 | $24,125 | 83% |
| 335 | Kent StateKent, OH · public | $29,183 | $31,456 | $38,423 | $25,000 | 86% |
| 336 | Hope CollegeHolland, MI · private nonprofit | $29,181 | Not adjusted | $51,986 | $24,488 | 84% |
| 337 | Eastern New Mexico UniversityPortales, NM · public | $29,167 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 93% |
| 338 | UTEPEl Paso, TX · public | $29,066 | $29,947 | $47,880 | $22,328 | 77% |
| 339 | Francis Marion UniversityFlorence, SC · public | $28,982 | $30,914 | $39,185 | $31,500 | 109% |
| 340 | Georgia StateAtlanta, GA · public | $28,968 | $30,083 | $43,927 | $31,000 | 107% |
| 341 | Augusta UniversityAugusta, GA · public | $28,860 | $29,971 | $40,286 | $27,848 | 96% |
| 342 | City College of New YorkNew York, NY · public | $28,825 | $26,709 | $57,182 | $11,000 | 38% |
| 343 | College of CharlestonCharleston, SC · public | $28,801 | $30,721 | $47,690 | $25,000 | 87% |
| 344 | Central Michigan UniversityMount Pleasant, MI · public | $28,785 | $29,917 | $47,455 | $28,563 | 99% |
| 345 | Savannah StateSavannah, GA · public | $28,747 | $29,854 | $37,264 | $29,000 | 101% |
| 346 | Portland StatePortland, OR · public | $28,708 | $27,774 | $46,213 | $25,000 | 87% |
| 347 | Buffalo StateBuffalo, NY · public | $28,676 | $26,571 | $47,196 | $26,000 | 91% |
| 348 | University at BuffaloBuffalo, NY · public | $28,593 | $26,494 | $56,006 | $18,945 | 66% |
| 349 | UC Santa CruzSanta Cruz, CA · public | $28,495 | $25,736 | $56,389 | $16,500 | 58% |
| 350 | Middlebury CollegeMiddlebury, VT · private nonprofit | $28,368 | Not adjusted | $64,699 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 351 | Harris-Stowe StateSaint Louis, MO · public | $28,268 | $31,126 | Not reported | $25,750 | 91% |
| 352 | University of Central MissouriWarrensburg, MO · public | $28,238 | Not adjusted | $45,562 | $24,100 | 85% |
| 353 | Grinnell CollegeGrinnell, IA · private nonprofit | $28,216 | Not adjusted | $57,657 | $16,000 | 57% |
| 354 | UABBirmingham, AL · public | $28,137 | Not adjusted | $38,987 | $28,979 | 103% |
| 355 | Cheyney University of PennsylvaniaCheyney, PA · public | $28,128 | Not adjusted | $43,236 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 356 | Longwood UniversityFarmville, VA · public | $27,948 | $27,643 | $53,416 | $25,000 | 89% |
| 357 | Stanislaus StateTurlock, CA · public | $27,919 | $25,216 | $49,633 | $10,613 | 38% |
| 358 | UH ManoaHonolulu, HI · public | $27,859 | $25,338 | $49,856 | $19,500 | 70% |
| 359 | Idaho StatePocatello, ID · public | $27,854 | $29,168 | $38,928 | $29,839 | 107% |
| 360 | LSUBaton Rouge, LA · public | $27,846 | $31,569 | $50,458 | $24,959 | 90% |
| 361 | Purdue Fort WayneFort Wayne, IN · public | $27,749 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 362 | Fort Lewis CollegeDurango, CO · public | $27,553 | Not adjusted | $38,414 | $19,213 | 70% |
| 363 | UNC GreensboroGreensboro, NC · public | $27,400 | $29,048 | $43,912 | $25,988 | 95% |
| 364 | UCCSColorado Springs, CO · public | $27,226 | $26,420 | $45,272 | $22,625 | 83% |
| 365 | Albertus Magnus CollegeNew Haven, CT · private nonprofit | $27,217 | $26,269 | $42,513 | $43,000 | 158% |
| 366 | University of WyomingLaramie, WY · public | $27,059 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $20,500 | 76% |
| 367 | SUNY New PaltzNew Paltz, NY · public | $26,901 | $24,927 | $51,979 | $24,091 | 90% |
| 368 | Boise StateBoise, ID · public | $26,809 | $28,074 | $43,175 | $25,635 | 96% |
| 369 | Troy UniversityTroy, AL · public | $26,803 | Not adjusted | $40,681 | $43,500 | 162% |
| 370 | Moravian UniversityBethlehem, PA · private nonprofit | $26,583 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 102% |
| 371 | Loyola University New OrleansNew Orleans, LA · private nonprofit | $26,581 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $25,621 | 96% |
| 372 | Vassar CollegePoughkeepsie, NY · private nonprofit | $26,356 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 373 | UL LafayetteLafayette, LA · public | $26,306 | $29,823 | $36,661 | $24,250 | 92% |
| 374 | Seattle Pacific UniversitySeattle, WA · private nonprofit | $25,958 | $24,257 | Not reported | $25,000 | 96% |
| 375 | Lee UniversityCleveland, TN · private nonprofit | $25,127 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $25,245 | 100% |
| 376 | Stockton UniversityGalloway, NJ · public | $24,814 | $22,806 | $53,101 | $26,000 | 105% |
| 377 | Coastal Carolina UniversityConway, SC · public | $24,738 | $26,387 | $44,757 | $26,475 | 107% |
| 378 | NC A&TGreensboro, NC · public | $24,661 | $26,144 | $35,616 | $33,540 | 136% |
| 379 | Sam Houston StateHuntsville, TX · public | $24,612 | $25,358 | $49,768 | $29,000 | 118% |
| 380 | Cal Poly HumboldtArcata, CA · public | $24,501 | $22,129 | $51,759 | $16,458 | 67% |
| 381 | East Tennessee StateJohnson City, TN · public | $24,468 | Not adjusted | $33,474 | $18,352 | 75% |
| 382 | UH HiloHilo, HI · public | $24,414 | $22,204 | $36,076 | $23,705 | 97% |
| 383 | Albright CollegeReading, PA · private nonprofit | $24,310 | Not adjusted | $57,087 | $25,500 | 105% |
| 384 | Claflin UniversityOrangeburg, SC · private nonprofit | $24,139 | Not adjusted | $37,339 | $32,500 | 135% |
| 385 | Ithaca CollegeIthaca, NY · private nonprofit | $24,026 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $25,000 | 104% |
| 386 | Lane CollegeJackson, TN · private nonprofit | $23,591 | Not adjusted | $34,589 | $40,472 | 172% |
| 387 | St Bonaventure UniversitySaint Bonaventure, NY · private nonprofit | $23,475 | Not adjusted | $50,544 | $26,000 | 111% |
| 388 | Texas A&M International UniversityLaredo, TX · public | $23,384 | $24,093 | $37,594 | $15,812 | 68% |
| 389 | Western Carolina UniversityCullowhee, NC · public | $23,374 | $24,780 | $48,855 | $23,250 | 99% |
| 390 | NYUNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $22,697 | $21,031 | $73,086 | $18,875 | 83% |
| 391 | Connecticut CollegeNew London, CT · private nonprofit | $22,636 | Not adjusted | $60,689 | $20,670 | 91% |
| 392 | Drew UniversityMadison, NJ · private nonprofit | $20,658 | Not adjusted | $47,255 | $26,750 | 129% |
| 393 | Vermont StateRandolph, VT · public | $20,464 | Not adjusted | $39,464 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 394 | Hobart William Smith CollegesGeneva, NY · private nonprofit | $20,228 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,500 | 131% |
| 395 | Oakland UniversityRochester Hills, MI · public | $20,126 | $20,917 | $51,583 | $20,500 | 102% |
| 396 | UNC AshevilleAsheville, NC · public | $18,869 | $20,004 | $38,232 | $23,250 | 123% |
| 397 | Gordon CollegeWenham, MA · private nonprofit | $18,487 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 146% |
Pay after cost of living divides first-year pay by the Bureau of Economic Analysis price level of the school's state, where the US average is 100. It is shown for 292 programs where at least half of the graduates who work are working in the school's state. The other 105, whose graduates mostly work in other states or whose state has no price level, are listed last when you sort by it.
21 programs report pay but not debt, so they are ranked only by pay.
College Scorecard withholds pay for programs with too few graduates, to protect their privacy, so those programs can't be ranked.
Sociology (Bachelor's) programs by state
Each row is the median across the state's sociology bachelor's programs. State names link to the full ranking of that state's programs.
| # | State | Programs | Year 1 pay | Debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Minnesota | 6 | $40,540 | $27,000 |
| 2 | Kansas | 5 | $38,075 | $27,000 |
| 3 | Iowa | 5 | $38,034 | $24,672 |
| 4 | Virginia | 11 | $37,946 | $25,274 |
| 5 | Colorado | 10 | $37,674 | $23,000 |
| 6 | Massachusetts | 20 | $37,541 | $27,000 |
| 7 | Ohio | 9 | $36,506 | $26,288 |
| 8 | Wisconsin | 9 | $35,981 | $25,984 |
| 9 | Illinois | 16 | $34,769 | $26,157 |
| 10 | California | 42 | $34,628 | $16,458 |
| 11 | Washington | 8 | $34,496 | $21,238 |
| 12 | Missouri | 8 | $34,164 | $25,191 |
| 13 | Indiana | 10 | $34,154 | $21,596 |
| 14 | Maryland | 9 | $34,150 | $27,000 |
| 15 | Pennsylvania | 20 | $34,014 | $26,000 |
| 16 | Florida | 10 | $33,697 | $23,250 |
| 17 | New York | 38 | $33,500 | $24,407 |
| 18 | Tennessee | 8 | $33,261 | $25,245 |
| 19 | Texas | 19 | $32,956 | $25,000 |
| 20 | New Jersey | 13 | $32,914 | $25,531 |
| 21 | Connecticut | 7 | $32,013 | $26,000 |
| 22 | Michigan | 10 | $31,757 | $26,493 |
| 23 | North Carolina | 14 | $31,728 | $24,938 |
| 24 | Georgia | 12 | $30,984 | $28,875 |
| 25 | South Carolina | 9 | $29,438 | $27,000 |
| 26 | Louisiana | 5 | $27,846 | $25,621 |
Programs in 23 more states and territories report pay, but too few to rank. A state ranking needs at least five programs that report both pay and debt.
Quick picks nationwide
Lowest median debt
- Skidmore College, NY$9,200
- USC, CA$10,324
- Stanislaus State, CA$10,613
- Hunter College, NY$10,750
- City College of New York, NY$11,000
- Fresno State, CA$11,114
- Lehman College, NY$11,247
- Cornell University, NY$11,900
- San Diego State, CA$12,500
- Cal State LA, CA$12,500
Lowest debt for the pay
- Skidmore College, NY26%
- Lehman College, NY26%
- USC, CA29%
- Tufts University, MA31%
- UC Berkeley, CA32%
- Cornell University, NY32%
- Barnard College, NY33%
- John Jay College, NY35%
- Hunter College, NY36%
- San Diego State, CA36%
Only the 316 programs with their own page here are included. "Debt for the pay" is median debt divided by first-year pay.
Careers this field leads to
These are the jobs that the federal crosswalk from fields of study to occupations links to sociology, largest first. Pay is the median across the US and all experience levels.
Social Science Research Assistants
$61,990Median pay in the US. 30,640 people work in this job in the US. Nationally, jobs are projected to grow 5% from 2025 to 2035, with about 4,900 openings a year. Typical education to start: bachelor's degree.
Sociologists
$106,030Median pay in the US. 2,260 people work in this job in the US. Nationally, jobs are projected to grow 4% from 2025 to 2035, with about 200 openings a year. Typical education to start: master's degree.
Common questions
The median sociology bachelor's program in the US pays its graduates $34,099 in their first year and $50,382 five years after.
Minnesota, where the median program pays its graduates $40,540 in their first year, the highest of 26 state rankings. Kansas is next, at $38,075.
Dartmouth College in New Hampshire reports the highest first-year pay of the 397 programs ranked here, $64,377. Its median federal debt is $19,250.
The median program leaves its graduates with $25,000 in federal debt. Across programs, the median debt is 72% of first-year pay.
About this data
- Earnings and debt only include students who received federal financial aid, and earnings only count graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school.
- Debt only includes federal loans. Private loans and credit cards are not counted.
- Medians are across programs, not students: each program counts once, however many graduates it has.
- National medians include every program in the 50 states, DC, and US territories, including schools that have since closed. Schools with several campuses that report one combined figure are counted once.
- Programs are ranked by College Scorecard median pay one year after graduation. Pay after cost of living uses the price level of the school's state.
- Scorecard figures describe graduating classes from several years ago. BLS wages are from May 2025. Price levels are the Bureau of Economic Analysis Regional Price Parities for 2024.
Sources
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field of study and institution files, June 2026 release
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Employment Projections 2025 to 2035
- NCES, CIP 2020 to SOC 2018 crosswalk
- Bureau of Economic Analysis, Regional Price Parities, 2024