Highest-Paying Liberal Arts and General Studies (Bachelor's) Programs in the US
- 395 programs report first-year pay
- 33 state rankings
- Bachelor's in Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
College Scorecard June 2026 release · BLS wages May 2025
The short answer
The median liberal arts and general studies bachelor's program in the US pays its graduates $36,157 in their first year and $48,575 five years after. Wisconsin has the highest state median ($43,714), and South Carolina the lowest ($28,364). The median program leaves its graduates with $27,000 in federal debt.
All 389 programs, ranked by graduate pay
Each program is ranked by the median pay of its graduates one year after they finished, from College Scorecard. This measures what graduates earn, not how good the teaching is. Pay also depends on where graduates live and work. Programs that don't report a figure are listed last when you sort by it.
| # | School | Year 1 pay | After cost of living | Year 5 pay | Debt | Debt to pay |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MITCambridge, MA · private nonprofit | $103,135 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $11,935 | 12% |
| 2 | DePaul UniversityChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $84,066 | $84,101 | $86,015 | $42,350 | 50% |
| 3 | Molloy UniversityRockville Centre, NY · private nonprofit | $74,868 | $69,373 | Not reported | $31,000 | 41% |
| 4 | Bentley UniversityWaltham, MA · private nonprofit | $72,333 | $68,395 | $103,187 | $26,000 | 36% |
| 5 | Champlain CollegeBurlington, VT · private nonprofit | $71,207 | Not adjusted | $57,437 | $23,949 | 34% |
| 6 | Georgetown UniversityWashington, DC · private nonprofit | $66,719 | Not adjusted | $119,188 | $25,000 | 37% |
| 7 | Thomas More UniversityCrestview Hills, KY · private nonprofit | $62,607 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $29,358 | 47% |
| 8 | Drexel UniversityPhiladelphia, PA · private nonprofit | $62,470 | $64,025 | $68,119 | $27,154 | 43% |
| 9 | American Public University SystemCharles Town, WV · private for-profit | $62,059 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $6,265 | 10% |
| 10 | Yale UniversityNew Haven, CT · private nonprofit | $61,133 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $15,750 | 26% |
| 11 | National UniversitySan Diego, CA · private nonprofit | $57,429 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $35,426 | 62% |
| 12 | University of MinnesotaMinneapolis, MN · public | $56,778 | $57,572 | Not reported | $21,250 | 37% |
| 13 | Saint Mary's College of CaliforniaMoraga, CA · private nonprofit | $56,094 | $50,663 | $63,470 | $27,000 | 48% |
| 14 | SNHUManchester, NH · private nonprofit | $55,339 | Not adjusted | $61,845 | $29,084 | 53% |
| 15 | UW-Green BayGreen Bay, WI · public | $54,436 | $57,852 | $49,378 | $27,000 | 50% |
| 16 | Saint Joseph's UniversityPhiladelphia, PA · private nonprofit | $53,766 | $55,104 | $70,905 | $43,575 | 81% |
| 17 | University of St Thomas (Texas)Houston, TX · private nonprofit | $53,187 | $54,800 | Not reported | $25,000 | 47% |
| 18 | Regis CollegeWeston, MA · private nonprofit | $52,559 | $49,698 | Not reported | $27,000 | 51% |
| 19 | Excelsior UniversityAlbany, NY · private nonprofit | $52,429 | Not adjusted | $64,828 | $11,875 | 23% |
| 20 | Saint Xavier UniversityChicago, IL · private nonprofit | $51,054 | $51,075 | $52,042 | $31,000 | 61% |
| 21 | Athens StateAthens, AL · public | $50,903 | $57,308 | $40,930 | $27,839 | 55% |
| 22 | William Jewell CollegeLiberty, MO · private nonprofit | $50,663 | $55,786 | $64,663 | $26,831 | 53% |
| 23 | University of MiamiCoral Gables, FL · private nonprofit | $50,614 | $48,943 | Not reported | $28,590 | 56% |
| 24 | UW-OshkoshOshkosh, WI · public | $50,438 | $53,603 | $60,619 | $31,154 | 62% |
| 25 | Trinity Washington UniversityWashington, DC · private nonprofit | $50,283 | $45,753 | Not reported | $36,000 | 72% |
| 26 | Thomas Edison State UniversityTrenton, NJ · public | $49,779 | Not adjusted | $54,955 | $19,766 | 40% |
| 27 | JMUHarrisonburg, VA · public | $49,408 | $48,868 | $53,680 | $23,250 | 47% |
| 28 | ASUTempe, AZ · public | $49,147 | Not adjusted | $62,843 | $31,000 | 63% |
| 29 | Metropolitan State UniversitySaint Paul, MN · public | $49,083 | $49,769 | $70,018 | $32,145 | 65% |
| 30 | University of Arizona Global CampusChandler, AZ · public | $49,010 | Not adjusted | $51,140 | $31,500 | 64% |
| 31 | Saint Louis UniversitySaint Louis, MO · private nonprofit | $48,829 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $54,581 | 112% |
| 32 | Notre Dame of Maryland UniversityBaltimore, MD · private nonprofit | $48,819 | $46,512 | $52,702 | $28,000 | 57% |
| 33 | UCFOrlando, FL · public | $48,391 | $46,793 | $55,048 | $15,135 | 31% |
| 34 | University of the Incarnate WordSan Antonio, TX · private nonprofit | $47,241 | Not adjusted | $54,028 | $21,004 | 44% |
| 35 | Spring Arbor UniversitySpring Arbor, MI · private nonprofit | $47,121 | $48,974 | $49,430 | $30,657 | 65% |
| 36 | Xavier UniversityCincinnati, OH · private nonprofit | $47,064 | $50,730 | $61,535 | $23,250 | 49% |
| 37 | Bridgewater CollegeBridgewater, VA · private nonprofit | $46,820 | $46,309 | $47,686 | $26,000 | 56% |
| 38 | Longwood UniversityFarmville, VA · public | $46,714 | $46,204 | $50,634 | $25,375 | 54% |
| 39 | Belmont Abbey CollegeBelmont, NC · private nonprofit | $46,654 | $49,460 | $44,236 | $33,291 | 71% |
| 40 | Eastern Mennonite UniversityHarrisonburg, VA · private nonprofit | $46,585 | $46,076 | $48,303 | $27,000 | 58% |
| 41 | Antioch UniversityYellow Springs, OH · private nonprofit | $46,487 | $50,108 | $48,020 | $29,832 | 64% |
| 42 | Mercy UniversityDobbs Ferry, NY · private nonprofit | $46,408 | $43,002 | Not reported | $33,687 | 73% |
| 43 | Cornell UniversityIthaca, NY · private nonprofit | $46,072 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 44 | Barry UniversityMiami, FL · private nonprofit | $46,015 | $44,496 | $44,985 | $46,429 | 101% |
| 45 | Chicago StateChicago, IL · public | $45,762 | $45,781 | $46,102 | $54,000 | 118% |
| 46 | University of Oklahoma-Norman CampusNorman, OK · public | $45,726 | $52,054 | $55,641 | $27,000 | 59% |
| 47 | Lee UniversityCleveland, TN · private nonprofit | $45,678 | Not adjusted | $42,674 | $28,979 | 63% |
| 48 | Notre DameNotre Dame, IN · private nonprofit | $45,579 | Not adjusted | $87,620 | $18,800 | 41% |
| 49 | Union CollegeSchenectady, NY · private nonprofit | $45,516 | Not adjusted | $49,183 | $24,500 | 54% |
| 50 | Endicott CollegeBeverly, MA · private nonprofit | $45,277 | $42,812 | $49,010 | $15,456 | 34% |
| 51 | UT AustinAustin, TX · public | $45,243 | $46,615 | $65,567 | $19,052 | 42% |
| 52 | USFTampa, FL · public | $45,230 | $43,737 | $52,747 | $30,676 | 68% |
| 53 | Columbia College (Missouri)Columbia, MO · private nonprofit | $45,133 | Not adjusted | $54,849 | $30,658 | 68% |
| 54 | Middle Tennessee StateMurfreesboro, TN · public | $45,074 | $49,063 | $51,748 | $29,723 | 66% |
| 55 | Alverno CollegeMilwaukee, WI · private nonprofit | $44,812 | $47,624 | $48,142 | $43,066 | 96% |
| 56 | Siena Heights UniversityAdrian, MI · private nonprofit | $44,746 | $46,505 | Not reported | $27,137 | 61% |
| 57 | Wayland Baptist UniversityPlainview, TX · private nonprofit | $44,688 | $46,043 | $62,255 | $24,258 | 54% |
| 58 | Whitworth UniversitySpokane, WA · private nonprofit | $44,645 | $41,719 | $54,169 | $36,988 | 83% |
| 59 | Charter Oak State CollegeNew Britain, CT · public | $44,615 | $43,061 | $60,492 | $25,000 | 56% |
| 60 | Aurora UniversityAurora, IL · private nonprofit | $44,614 | $44,633 | Not reported | $27,000 | 61% |
| 60 | Minot StateMinot, ND · public | $44,614 | $50,151 | Not reported | $29,147 | 65% |
| 62 | Utah Valley UniversityOrem, UT · public | $44,366 | $44,876 | $36,343 | $21,458 | 48% |
| 63 | UConnStorrs, CT · public | $44,240 | $42,699 | $57,793 | $22,000 | 50% |
| 64 | Worcester StateWorcester, MA · public | $43,996 | $41,601 | Not reported | $23,907 | 54% |
| 65 | Cameron UniversityLawton, OK · public | $43,865 | $49,936 | Not reported | $26,189 | 60% |
| 66 | Indiana Wesleyan University-MarionMarion, IN · private nonprofit | $43,763 | $46,891 | $48,336 | $27,000 | 62% |
| 67 | Northern Arizona UniversityFlagstaff, AZ · public | $43,752 | $43,458 | $54,948 | $21,600 | 49% |
| 68 | University of BridgeportBridgeport, CT · private nonprofit | $43,743 | $42,219 | $57,395 | $32,147 | 73% |
| 69 | UW-Eau ClaireEau Claire, WI · public | $43,714 | Not adjusted | $43,223 | $21,312 | 49% |
| 70 | Simpson CollegeIndianola, IA · private nonprofit | $43,635 | $49,720 | $40,292 | $27,000 | 62% |
| 71 | South Dakota StateBrookings, SD · public | $43,563 | $49,176 | $48,310 | $29,731 | 68% |
| 72 | Lamar UniversityBeaumont, TX · public | $43,524 | $44,844 | $48,465 | $29,298 | 67% |
| 73 | University of Nevada-RenoReno, NV · public | $43,520 | $43,529 | $55,997 | $23,790 | 55% |
| 74 | University of IndianapolisIndianapolis, IN · private nonprofit | $43,509 | $46,619 | $60,437 | $31,000 | 71% |
| 75 | Rowan UniversityGlassboro, NJ · public | $43,486 | $39,967 | $54,186 | $27,000 | 62% |
| 76 | Ohio StateColumbus, OH · public | $43,393 | $46,773 | $49,273 | $21,250 | 49% |
| 77 | Eastern New Mexico UniversityPortales, NM · public | $43,186 | $46,833 | $49,919 | $22,301 | 52% |
| 78 | City College of New YorkNew York, NY · public | $43,059 | $39,899 | $52,617 | $12,985 | 30% |
| 79 | Northeastern Illinois UniversityChicago, IL · public | $42,976 | $42,994 | $45,509 | $17,000 | 40% |
| 80 | University of North DakotaGrand Forks, ND · public | $42,948 | $48,278 | $58,428 | $24,901 | 58% |
| 81 | Luther CollegeDecorah, IA · private nonprofit | $42,926 | Not adjusted | $54,501 | $27,000 | 63% |
| 82 | Fort Hays StateHays, KS · public | $42,795 | $47,514 | $51,328 | $26,573 | 62% |
| 83 | UW-MilwaukeeMilwaukee, WI · public | $42,673 | $45,351 | $62,368 | $29,000 | 68% |
| 84 | Liberty UniversityLynchburg, VA · private nonprofit | $42,669 | $42,203 | $42,579 | $25,291 | 59% |
| 85 | University of KansasLawrence, KS · public | $42,527 | $47,217 | $57,045 | $22,500 | 53% |
| 86 | University of Mary Hardin-BaylorBelton, TX · private nonprofit | $42,522 | $43,811 | $56,579 | $31,000 | 73% |
| 87 | Baker CollegeOwosso, MI · private nonprofit | $42,426 | $44,094 | $53,139 | $44,313 | 104% |
| 88 | Stockton UniversityGalloway, NJ · public | $42,209 | $38,793 | $56,142 | $27,000 | 64% |
| 89 | Colorado Mesa UniversityGrand Junction, CO · public | $42,136 | $40,888 | $45,017 | $25,970 | 62% |
| 90 | Governors StateUniversity Park, IL · public | $42,107 | $42,125 | $43,379 | $36,500 | 87% |
| 91 | Vermont StateRandolph, VT · public | $41,999 | $42,874 | $48,262 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 92 | Eastern Connecticut StateWillimantic, CT · public | $41,870 | $40,411 | $50,040 | $25,373 | 61% |
| 93 | Jackson StateJackson, MS · public | $41,812 | $48,086 | Not reported | $48,911 | 117% |
| 94 | Texas Woman's UniversityDenton, TX · public | $41,803 | $43,071 | $56,603 | $32,625 | 78% |
| 95 | Friends UniversityWichita, KS · private nonprofit | $41,734 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $31,500 | 75% |
| 96 | NC StateRaleigh, NC · public | $41,661 | $44,167 | Not reported | $25,993 | 62% |
| 97 | University of Arkansas at MonticelloMonticello, AR · public | $41,530 | $47,770 | $42,474 | $20,683 | 50% |
| 98 | IU IndianapolisIndianapolis, IN · public | $41,499 | $44,465 | $49,421 | $29,000 | 70% |
| 99 | George MasonFairfax, VA · public | $41,398 | $40,946 | $59,124 | $24,500 | 59% |
| 100 | Union UniversityJackson, TN · private nonprofit | $41,320 | $44,977 | $45,443 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 101 | West Virginia StateInstitute, WV · public | $41,319 | $46,168 | $43,268 | $31,125 | 75% |
| 102 | Rider UniversityLawrenceville, NJ · private nonprofit | $41,315 | $37,972 | $65,807 | $22,233 | 54% |
| 103 | Belmont UniversityNashville, TN · private nonprofit | $41,245 | Not adjusted | $73,156 | $29,438 | 71% |
| 104 | Kent StateKent, OH · public | $41,205 | $44,414 | $50,733 | $31,963 | 78% |
| 105 | Bay Path UniversityLongmeadow, MA · private nonprofit | $41,141 | Not adjusted | $43,713 | $29,572 | 72% |
| 106 | Dakota StateMadison, SD · public | $41,119 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $37,250 | 91% |
| 107 | Sam Houston StateHuntsville, TX · public | $41,112 | $42,359 | $53,420 | $25,750 | 63% |
| 108 | Wilmington UniversityNew Castle, DE · private nonprofit | $41,066 | Not adjusted | $51,376 | $29,971 | 73% |
| 109 | UABBirmingham, AL · public | $40,968 | $46,123 | $50,137 | $28,500 | 70% |
| 110 | University of Nebraska at OmahaOmaha, NE · public | $40,892 | $45,384 | $53,598 | $26,310 | 64% |
| 111 | Mary Baldwin UniversityStaunton, VA · private nonprofit | $40,887 | $40,441 | $40,290 | $27,089 | 66% |
| 112 | Saint Leo UniversitySaint Leo, FL · private nonprofit | $40,874 | $39,525 | $54,870 | $30,624 | 75% |
| 113 | West Texas A&M UniversityCanyon, TX · public | $40,793 | $42,030 | $49,345 | $23,250 | 57% |
| 114 | University of IowaIowa City, IA · public | $40,791 | $46,479 | $59,491 | $25,269 | 62% |
| 115 | Saginaw Valley StateUniversity Center, MI · public | $40,740 | $42,342 | $67,148 | $38,865 | 95% |
| 116 | Baker UniversityBaldwin City, KS · private nonprofit | $40,704 | $45,193 | $45,760 | $27,000 | 66% |
| 117 | Texas TechLubbock, TX · public | $40,600 | $41,831 | $54,047 | $28,713 | 71% |
| 118 | Miami UniversityOxford, OH · public | $40,556 | $43,715 | $48,701 | $31,000 | 76% |
| 119 | UW-WhitewaterWhitewater, WI · public | $40,494 | $43,035 | $49,173 | $32,501 | 80% |
| 120 | University of Mount UnionAlliance, OH · private nonprofit | $40,431 | $43,580 | $56,981 | $27,000 | 67% |
| 121 | Ramapo College of New JerseyMahwah, NJ · public | $40,331 | $37,067 | $55,423 | $27,625 | 68% |
| 122 | Eastern Illinois UniversityCharleston, IL · public | $40,273 | $40,290 | $53,353 | $24,250 | 60% |
| 123 | UT ArlingtonArlington, TX · public | $40,185 | $41,404 | $55,901 | $28,750 | 72% |
| 124 | Washington StatePullman, WA · public | $40,061 | $37,436 | $46,521 | $22,881 | 57% |
| 125 | University of Northern IowaCedar Falls, IA · public | $40,009 | $45,588 | $39,695 | $26,400 | 66% |
| 126 | Grand View UniversityDes Moines, IA · private nonprofit | $39,996 | $45,573 | $51,137 | $25,973 | 65% |
| 127 | UMKCKansas City, MO · public | $39,992 | $44,036 | $48,560 | $25,000 | 63% |
| 128 | University of Maine at AugustaAugusta, ME · public | $39,982 | $41,197 | $49,546 | $27,841 | 70% |
| 129 | East Texas A&M UniversityCommerce, TX · public | $39,969 | $41,181 | $45,835 | $28,933 | 72% |
| 130 | IU EastRichmond, IN · public | $39,936 | $42,791 | $44,852 | $29,072 | 73% |
| 131 | Weber StateOgden, UT · public | $39,864 | $40,322 | $58,770 | $21,361 | 54% |
| 132 | Wesleyan UniversityMiddletown, CT · private nonprofit | $39,764 | Not adjusted | $68,048 | $16,125 | 41% |
| 133 | Sonoma StateRohnert Park, CA · public | $39,758 | $35,909 | $58,913 | $16,500 | 42% |
| 134 | Morgan StateBaltimore, MD · public | $39,699 | $37,823 | Not reported | $32,512 | 82% |
| 135 | Purdue Fort WayneFort Wayne, IN · public | $39,564 | $42,392 | $46,772 | $24,106 | 61% |
| 136 | Adams StateAlamosa, CO · public | $39,546 | $38,375 | $46,747 | $24,879 | 63% |
| 137 | Lewis-Clark State CollegeLewiston, ID · public | $39,404 | $41,263 | $52,127 | $26,698 | 68% |
| 138 | University of MissouriColumbia, MO · public | $39,317 | $43,293 | $53,300 | $20,569 | 52% |
| 139 | Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan CampusTeaneck, NJ · private nonprofit | $39,071 | $35,909 | $50,319 | $26,000 | 67% |
| 140 | Southeastern Oklahoma StateDurant, OK · public | $38,899 | $44,282 | $42,648 | $22,879 | 59% |
| 141 | Texas StateSan Marcos, TX · public | $38,829 | $40,006 | $57,785 | $26,599 | 69% |
| 142 | Ferris StateBig Rapids, MI · public | $38,583 | $40,100 | $43,033 | $29,852 | 77% |
| 143 | CSU PuebloPueblo, CO · public | $38,502 | $37,362 | $43,701 | $25,750 | 67% |
| 144 | Salisbury UniversitySalisbury, MD · public | $38,478 | $36,660 | $50,005 | $25,000 | 65% |
| 145 | NYUNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $38,447 | $35,625 | $68,008 | $21,787 | 57% |
| 146 | Emporia StateEmporia, KS · public | $38,423 | $42,660 | $44,658 | $26,492 | 69% |
| 147 | University of Maine at Presque IslePresque Isle, ME · public | $38,395 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $24,750 | 64% |
| 148 | UMSLSaint Louis, MO · public | $38,332 | $42,208 | $49,013 | $35,750 | 93% |
| 149 | Texas A&M-Central TexasKilleen, TX · public | $38,253 | $39,413 | $52,578 | $22,688 | 59% |
| 150 | Randall UniversityMoore, OK · private nonprofit | $38,244 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $30,786 | 80% |
| 151 | Western Illinois UniversityMacomb, IL · public | $38,196 | $38,212 | $48,040 | $28,750 | 75% |
| 152 | St. Joseph's University-New YorkBrooklyn, NY · private nonprofit | $38,090 | $35,294 | $41,232 | $26,625 | 70% |
| 153 | Oregon StateCorvallis, OR · public | $38,083 | $36,845 | $52,570 | $25,439 | 67% |
| 154 | University of MichiganAnn Arbor, MI · public | $38,065 | $39,562 | $52,125 | $20,728 | 54% |
| 155 | Los Angeles Pacific UniversityGlendora, CA · private nonprofit | $37,985 | $34,307 | Not reported | $33,893 | 89% |
| 156 | University of North GeorgiaDahlonega, GA · public | $37,981 | $39,443 | $48,240 | $24,967 | 66% |
| 157 | SUNY CortlandCortland, NY · public | $37,940 | $35,155 | $50,640 | $28,150 | 74% |
| 158 | Oklahoma StateStillwater, OK · public | $37,938 | $43,188 | $56,670 | $26,000 | 69% |
| 159 | Clayton StateMorrow, GA · public | $37,898 | $39,357 | $50,621 | $45,202 | 119% |
| 160 | Penn StateUniversity Park, PA · public | $37,834 | $38,775 | $48,587 | $27,750 | 73% |
| 161 | Medgar Evers CollegeBrooklyn, NY · public | $37,808 | $35,033 | $39,472 | $13,797 | 36% |
| 162 | University of Southern MississippiHattiesburg, MS · public | $37,800 | $43,472 | Not reported | $28,438 | 75% |
| 163 | University of Central OklahomaEdmond, OK · public | $37,786 | $43,015 | $49,223 | $27,000 | 71% |
| 164 | UM-DearbornDearborn, MI · public | $37,742 | $39,226 | $46,711 | $32,609 | 86% |
| 165 | Tennessee StateNashville, TN · public | $37,716 | Not adjusted | $60,054 | $38,562 | 102% |
| 166 | UNC Chapel HillChapel Hill, NC · public | $37,709 | $39,977 | Not reported | $13,000 | 34% |
| 167 | Texas A&M-TexarkanaTexarkana, TX · public | $37,685 | $38,828 | Not reported | $25,000 | 66% |
| 168 | University of Mary WashingtonFredericksburg, VA · public | $37,677 | $37,266 | $56,274 | $22,354 | 59% |
| 169 | Northern Kentucky UniversityHighland Heights, KY · public | $37,602 | $41,706 | $54,111 | $28,750 | 76% |
| 170 | Southern Illinois University-CarbondaleCarbondale, IL · public | $37,545 | $37,561 | $48,439 | $28,544 | 76% |
| 171 | IU SoutheastNew Albany, IN · public | $37,440 | $40,116 | $44,836 | $28,948 | 77% |
| 172 | East Central UniversityAda, OK · public | $37,389 | $42,563 | Not reported | $25,354 | 68% |
| 173 | West Liberty UniversityWest Liberty, WV · public | $37,379 | $41,766 | $42,711 | $31,000 | 83% |
| 174 | Johnson & Wales University-ProvidenceProvidence, RI · private nonprofit | $37,266 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $28,090 | 75% |
| 175 | Hampton UniversityHampton, VA · private nonprofit | $37,179 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,000 | 70% |
| 176 | Ole MissUniversity, MS · public | $37,174 | $42,752 | $46,381 | $25,450 | 68% |
| 177 | University of MemphisMemphis, TN · public | $37,158 | $40,446 | $47,098 | $38,972 | 105% |
| 178 | UMass LowellLowell, MA · public | $37,140 | $35,118 | $45,337 | $27,000 | 73% |
| 179 | IU NorthwestGary, IN · public | $37,035 | $39,682 | $45,103 | $31,000 | 84% |
| 180 | Seton Hall UniversitySouth Orange, NJ · private nonprofit | $36,993 | $33,999 | $64,659 | $25,000 | 68% |
| 181 | University of Massachusetts GlobalAliso Viejo, CA · public | $36,875 | $33,305 | $59,101 | $27,608 | 75% |
| 182 | University of Central MissouriWarrensburg, MO · public | $36,845 | $40,571 | $48,240 | $27,106 | 74% |
| 183 | East Carolina UniversityGreenville, NC · public | $36,809 | $39,023 | $44,670 | $27,000 | 73% |
| 183 | Husson UniversityBangor, ME · private nonprofit | $36,809 | $37,928 | Not reported | $31,000 | 84% |
| 185 | Missouri Southern StateJoplin, MO · public | $36,783 | $40,502 | $40,509 | $31,000 | 84% |
| 186 | Pittsburg StatePittsburg, KS · public | $36,597 | $40,633 | $47,881 | $23,500 | 64% |
| 187 | UNTDenton, TX · public | $36,588 | $37,697 | $55,226 | $22,254 | 61% |
| 188 | Iowa StateAmes, IA · public | $36,532 | $41,626 | $44,888 | $28,623 | 78% |
| 189 | Cal State East BayHayward, CA · public | $36,509 | $32,974 | $58,970 | $15,944 | 44% |
| 190 | UMass AmherstAmherst, MA · public | $36,362 | $34,383 | $54,887 | $25,742 | 71% |
| 191 | Mississippi StateMississippi State, MS · public | $36,318 | $41,767 | Not reported | $28,435 | 78% |
| 191 | RITRochester, NY · private nonprofit | $36,318 | $33,652 | $45,964 | $28,000 | 77% |
| 193 | Northwestern Oklahoma StateAlva, OK · public | $36,300 | $41,324 | $43,700 | $22,170 | 61% |
| 194 | USC UpstateSpartanburg, SC · public | $36,241 | $38,657 | $43,441 | $30,000 | 83% |
| 195 | Southern Connecticut StateNew Haven, CT · public | $36,168 | $34,908 | $47,918 | $26,625 | 74% |
| 196 | Oakland UniversityRochester Hills, MI · public | $36,157 | $37,579 | $61,563 | $28,000 | 77% |
| 197 | Concordia University TexasAustin, TX · private nonprofit | $36,012 | $37,104 | $44,835 | $32,474 | 90% |
| 198 | Delaware StateDover, DE · public | $35,998 | Not adjusted | $49,938 | $24,980 | 69% |
| 199 | Eastern Kentucky UniversityRichmond, KY · public | $35,958 | $39,883 | $39,737 | $31,000 | 86% |
| 200 | UL MonroeMonroe, LA · public | $35,951 | $40,758 | $54,010 | $26,844 | 75% |
| 201 | Valparaiso UniversityValparaiso, IN · private nonprofit | $35,931 | Not adjusted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 202 | University of South DakotaVermillion, SD · public | $35,907 | $40,533 | Not reported | $30,092 | 84% |
| 203 | Southern Utah UniversityCedar City, UT · public | $35,814 | $36,226 | $38,062 | $16,001 | 45% |
| 204 | IU BloomingtonBloomington, IN · public | $35,775 | $38,332 | $47,380 | $22,842 | 64% |
| 205 | RutgersNew Brunswick, NJ · public | $35,768 | $32,873 | Not reported | $23,000 | 64% |
| 206 | Grand Valley StateAllendale, MI · public | $35,767 | $37,173 | $53,130 | $31,000 | 87% |
| 207 | Western Kentucky UniversityBowling Green, KY · public | $35,746 | $39,648 | $40,352 | $28,892 | 81% |
| 208 | Austin PeayClarksville, TN · public | $35,745 | $38,908 | $43,136 | $27,128 | 76% |
| 209 | Anderson University (Indiana)Anderson, IN · private nonprofit | $35,722 | $38,275 | Not reported | $29,440 | 82% |
| 210 | Lesley UniversityCambridge, MA · private nonprofit | $35,658 | $33,717 | $41,991 | $30,057 | 84% |
| 211 | Missouri Baptist UniversitySaint Louis, MO · private nonprofit | $35,595 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $29,154 | 82% |
| 212 | University of HoustonHouston, TX · public | $35,565 | $36,643 | $52,064 | $21,000 | 59% |
| 213 | Langston UniversityLangston, OK · public | $35,510 | Not adjusted | $34,231 | $31,000 | 87% |
| 214 | IU KokomoKokomo, IN · public | $35,482 | $38,018 | $45,364 | $24,236 | 68% |
| 215 | Southeast Missouri StateCape Girardeau, MO · public | $35,464 | $39,050 | $48,292 | $26,875 | 76% |
| 216 | Winston-Salem StateWinston-Salem, NC · public | $35,414 | $37,544 | $35,537 | $28,524 | 81% |
| 217 | Seattle UniversitySeattle, WA · private nonprofit | $35,398 | $33,078 | $64,875 | $23,500 | 66% |
| 218 | Florida StateTallahassee, FL · public | $35,361 | $34,194 | $44,771 | $21,349 | 60% |
| 219 | Vassar CollegePoughkeepsie, NY · private nonprofit | $35,316 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $18,652 | 53% |
| 220 | McNeese StateLake Charles, LA · public | $35,282 | $39,999 | $41,559 | $27,000 | 77% |
| 221 | Tarleton StateStephenville, TX · public | $35,270 | $36,339 | $47,110 | $26,875 | 76% |
| 222 | Ball StateMuncie, IN · public | $35,269 | $37,790 | $46,722 | $26,965 | 76% |
| 223 | Neumann UniversityAston, PA · private nonprofit | $35,220 | $36,096 | $59,746 | $31,000 | 88% |
| 224 | Temple UniversityPhiladelphia, PA · public | $35,205 | $36,081 | Not reported | $34,372 | 98% |
| 225 | Azusa Pacific UniversityAzusa, CA · private nonprofit | $35,194 | $31,786 | $59,335 | $25,000 | 71% |
| 226 | Cal Poly SLOSan Luis Obispo, CA · public | $35,056 | $31,662 | $64,390 | $17,500 | 50% |
| 227 | Westfield StateWestfield, MA · public | $35,004 | $33,099 | $50,601 | $27,000 | 77% |
| 228 | California Lutheran UniversityThousand Oaks, CA · private nonprofit | $34,989 | $31,601 | $59,025 | $21,897 | 63% |
| 229 | WVUMorgantown, WV · public | $34,883 | $38,977 | $50,214 | $25,000 | 72% |
| 230 | Virginia StatePetersburg, VA · public | $34,877 | $34,496 | $49,029 | $31,000 | 89% |
| 231 | LSU ShreveportShreveport, LA · public | $34,855 | $39,515 | $39,822 | $34,500 | 99% |
| 232 | Nelson UniversityWaxahachie, TX · private nonprofit | $34,800 | $35,855 | $64,702 | $29,875 | 86% |
| 233 | Ripon CollegeRipon, WI · private nonprofit | $34,731 | $36,911 | Not reported | $27,000 | 78% |
| 234 | Ohio UniversityAthens, OH · public | $34,707 | $37,410 | $46,063 | $26,000 | 75% |
| 235 | Texas Southern UniversityHouston, TX · public | $34,661 | $35,712 | $48,744 | $48,500 | 140% |
| 236 | Georgia Southern UniversityStatesboro, GA · public | $34,576 | $35,907 | $47,052 | $31,000 | 90% |
| 237 | University of Southern IndianaEvansville, IN · public | $34,573 | $37,044 | $51,048 | $17,707 | 51% |
| 238 | Colorado StateFort Collins, CO · public | $34,540 | $33,517 | $49,230 | $25,000 | 72% |
| 239 | FIUMiami, FL · public | $34,418 | $33,282 | $49,791 | $25,571 | 74% |
| 240 | University of MaineOrono, ME · public | $34,404 | $35,450 | $49,255 | $21,166 | 62% |
| 241 | UTSASan Antonio, TX · public | $34,397 | $35,440 | $47,235 | $24,419 | 71% |
| 242 | Lubbock Christian UniversityLubbock, TX · private nonprofit | $34,330 | $35,371 | Not reported | $27,359 | 80% |
| 243 | Mayville StateMayville, ND · public | $34,306 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,926 | 81% |
| 244 | Murray StateMurray, KY · public | $34,304 | $38,048 | $44,106 | $28,162 | 82% |
| 245 | UMGCAdelphi, MD · public | $34,196 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $20,500 | 60% |
| 246 | University of Arkansas at Pine BluffPine Bluff, AR · public | $34,143 | $39,273 | $35,698 | $31,000 | 91% |
| 247 | Arkansas StateJonesboro, AR · public | $33,881 | $38,972 | $42,203 | $27,000 | 80% |
| 248 | Thomas More College of Liberal ArtsMerrimack, NH · private nonprofit | $33,863 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 80% |
| 249 | Johnson C Smith UniversityCharlotte, NC · private nonprofit | $33,847 | $35,883 | Not reported | $36,285 | 107% |
| 250 | Fairmont StateFairmont, WV · public | $33,815 | $37,783 | $44,626 | $30,939 | 91% |
| 251 | California Baptist UniversityRiverside, CA · private nonprofit | $33,793 | $30,521 | $55,626 | $28,587 | 85% |
| 252 | UA Little RockLittle Rock, AR · public | $33,780 | $38,856 | $40,951 | $31,000 | 92% |
| 253 | University of CincinnatiCincinnati, OH · public | $33,745 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $21,067 | 62% |
| 254 | IU South BendSouth Bend, IN · public | $33,716 | $36,126 | $40,789 | $25,319 | 75% |
| 255 | Southeastern Louisiana UniversityHammond, LA · public | $33,705 | $38,211 | $44,723 | $26,541 | 79% |
| 256 | University of KentuckyLexington, KY · public | $33,700 | $37,378 | Not reported | $30,690 | 91% |
| 257 | Tennessee Technological UniversityCookeville, TN · public | $33,678 | $36,658 | $47,032 | $21,000 | 62% |
| 258 | University of IdahoMoscow, ID · public | $33,620 | $35,206 | $42,977 | $26,209 | 78% |
| 259 | Cal State Dominguez HillsCarson, CA · public | $33,588 | $30,336 | $42,981 | $15,453 | 46% |
| 260 | Shepherd UniversityShepherdstown, WV · public | $33,587 | $37,529 | $54,880 | $29,500 | 88% |
| 261 | Pennsylvania Western UniversityCalifornia, PA · public | $33,573 | $34,408 | $41,585 | $33,280 | 99% |
| 262 | Aquinas CollegeGrand Rapids, MI · private nonprofit | $33,555 | $34,874 | Not reported | $31,000 | 92% |
| 263 | Thomas Aquinas CollegeSanta Paula, CA · private nonprofit | $33,432 | Not adjusted | $49,029 | $18,000 | 54% |
| 264 | Indiana StateTerre Haute, IN · public | $33,414 | $35,802 | Not reported | $28,750 | 86% |
| 265 | CSUNNorthridge, CA · public | $33,324 | $30,098 | $56,781 | $15,000 | 45% |
| 266 | Purdue NorthwestHammond, IN · public | $33,295 | $35,675 | $45,332 | $29,517 | 89% |
| 267 | University of South CarolinaColumbia, SC · public | $33,245 | $35,462 | $41,776 | $26,000 | 78% |
| 268 | Indiana University of PennsylvaniaIndiana, PA · public | $33,174 | $34,000 | Not reported | $31,000 | 93% |
| 269 | Benedict CollegeColumbia, SC · private nonprofit | $33,120 | Not adjusted | $41,133 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 270 | Missouri StateSpringfield, MO · public | $33,014 | $36,352 | Not reported | $28,371 | 86% |
| 271 | Centenary UniversityHackettstown, NJ · private nonprofit | $32,988 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $27,000 | 82% |
| 272 | John Brown UniversitySiloam Springs, AR · private nonprofit | $32,974 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,772 | 81% |
| 273 | West Virginia University at ParkersburgParkersburg, WV · public | $32,909 | $36,771 | $43,227 | $18,557 | 56% |
| 274 | Frostburg StateFrostburg, MD · public | $32,889 | $31,335 | $46,364 | $28,750 | 87% |
| 275 | Henderson StateArkadelphia, AR · public | $32,875 | $37,815 | $38,316 | $25,500 | 78% |
| 276 | Northwestern State University of LouisianaNatchitoches, LA · public | $32,688 | $37,058 | $47,139 | $31,000 | 95% |
| 277 | Providence Christian CollegePasadena, CA · private nonprofit | $32,598 | $29,442 | $37,025 | $25,000 | 77% |
| 278 | William Paterson University of New JerseyWayne, NJ · public | $32,581 | $29,944 | $55,634 | $26,750 | 82% |
| 279 | Concord UniversityAthens, WV · public | $32,499 | $36,313 | $37,562 | $24,326 | 75% |
| 280 | East Tennessee StateJohnson City, TN · public | $32,474 | $35,348 | $41,482 | $25,000 | 77% |
| 281 | LSU AlexandriaAlexandria, LA · public | $32,463 | $36,803 | $43,015 | $26,000 | 80% |
| 282 | Arlington Baptist UniversityArlington, TX · private nonprofit | $32,360 | $33,341 | Not reported | $31,000 | 96% |
| 283 | Marshall UniversityHuntington, WV · public | $32,282 | $36,070 | $37,919 | $29,248 | 91% |
| 284 | San Francisco StateSan Francisco, CA · public | $32,112 | $29,003 | $61,526 | $15,467 | 48% |
| 285 | Buffalo StateBuffalo, NY · public | $32,082 | $29,727 | $41,463 | $27,000 | 84% |
| 285 | Idaho StatePocatello, ID · public | $32,082 | $33,596 | $37,349 | $37,323 | 116% |
| 287 | Mississippi University for WomenColumbus, MS · public | $31,811 | Not adjusted | $37,153 | $29,673 | 93% |
| 288 | Commonwealth University of PennsylvaniaBloomsburg, PA · public | $31,805 | $32,596 | $34,532 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 289 | Cal State Long BeachLong Beach, CA · public | $31,802 | $28,723 | $52,433 | $15,500 | 49% |
| 290 | Northeastern StateTahlequah, OK · public | $31,794 | $36,194 | $44,083 | $30,582 | 96% |
| 291 | Bethel University (Indiana)Mishawaka, IN · private nonprofit | $31,754 | Not adjusted | $55,228 | $25,000 | 79% |
| 292 | Illinois StateNormal, IL · public | $31,745 | $31,758 | $44,962 | $23,621 | 74% |
| 293 | Framingham StateFramingham, MA · public | $31,613 | $29,892 | $53,727 | $23,250 | 74% |
| 294 | New Mexico StateLas Cruces, NM · public | $31,568 | $34,234 | $45,935 | $24,656 | 78% |
| 295 | Juniata CollegeHuntingdon, PA · private nonprofit | $31,548 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $26,857 | 85% |
| 296 | Youngstown StateYoungstown, OH · public | $31,492 | $33,945 | $43,902 | $31,000 | 98% |
| 297 | University of New MexicoAlbuquerque, NM · public | $31,428 | $34,082 | $46,977 | $23,125 | 74% |
| 298 | UL LafayetteLafayette, LA · public | $31,419 | $35,620 | $41,481 | $27,000 | 86% |
| 299 | Williams Baptist UniversityWalnut Ridge, AR · private nonprofit | $31,309 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $18,933 | 60% |
| 300 | UNC GreensboroGreensboro, NC · public | $31,245 | $33,124 | $46,623 | $25,898 | 83% |
| 301 | Providence CollegeProvidence, RI · private nonprofit | $31,117 | Not adjusted | $65,375 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 302 | Utah StateLogan, UT · public | $31,049 | $31,406 | $49,791 | $20,917 | 67% |
| 303 | Jacksonville StateJacksonville, AL · public | $30,939 | $34,832 | $43,553 | $27,546 | 89% |
| 304 | Michigan StateEast Lansing, MI · public | $30,916 | $32,132 | $46,687 | $27,312 | 88% |
| 305 | Southern Arkansas UniversityMagnolia, AR · public | $30,901 | $35,544 | Not reported | $28,228 | 91% |
| 306 | Cal State LALos Angeles, CA · public | $30,824 | $27,840 | $47,969 | $15,171 | 49% |
| 307 | Oakwood UniversityHuntsville, AL · private nonprofit | $30,724 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $51,250 | 167% |
| 308 | University of WashingtonSeattle, WA · public | $30,437 | $28,442 | $38,699 | $16,323 | 54% |
| 309 | Cal State Monterey BaySeaside, CA · public | $30,413 | $27,468 | $54,702 | $13,750 | 45% |
| 310 | NC A&TGreensboro, NC · public | $30,397 | $32,225 | $42,025 | $31,000 | 102% |
| 311 | Montana StateBozeman, MT · public | $30,380 | $32,099 | $44,105 | $27,036 | 89% |
| 312 | SUNY PlattsburghPlattsburgh, NY · public | $30,318 | $28,093 | $42,559 | $26,500 | 87% |
| 313 | Sacramento StateSacramento, CA · public | $30,286 | $27,354 | $55,823 | $15,000 | 50% |
| 314 | Roberts Wesleyan UniversityRochester, NY · private nonprofit | $30,102 | $27,893 | Not reported | $23,236 | 77% |
| 315 | Morehead StateMorehead, KY · public | $30,055 | $33,336 | $39,857 | $28,902 | 96% |
| 316 | Montana State University BillingsBillings, MT · public | $29,832 | $31,520 | $58,448 | $39,800 | 133% |
| 317 | BYU-IdahoRexburg, ID · private nonprofit | $29,803 | Not adjusted | $37,846 | $10,731 | 36% |
| 318 | University of Southern MainePortland, ME · public | $29,716 | Not adjusted | $44,622 | $25,000 | 84% |
| 319 | FAUBoca Raton, FL · public | $29,605 | $28,628 | $47,864 | $19,453 | 66% |
| 320 | UH West OahuKapolei, HI · public | $29,588 | $26,910 | Not reported | $18,952 | 64% |
| 321 | North Greenville UniversityTigerville, SC · private nonprofit | $29,506 | $31,473 | $36,971 | $25,500 | 86% |
| 322 | University of Nebraska at KearneyKearney, NE · public | $29,471 | $32,708 | $44,063 | $20,675 | 70% |
| 323 | Northern Illinois UniversityDekalb, IL · public | $29,426 | $29,438 | $50,679 | $30,839 | 105% |
| 324 | Cal State San MarcosSan Marcos, CA · public | $29,341 | $26,500 | $55,289 | $15,125 | 52% |
| 325 | Stanislaus StateTurlock, CA · public | $29,148 | $26,326 | $58,883 | $13,775 | 47% |
| 326 | Drew UniversityMadison, NJ · private nonprofit | $28,961 | $26,617 | $57,346 | $27,000 | 93% |
| 327 | Nova Southeastern UniversityFort Lauderdale, FL · private nonprofit | $28,890 | $27,936 | $52,599 | $31,000 | 107% |
| 328 | Alabama A&M UniversityNormal, AL · public | $28,877 | Not adjusted | $46,627 | $33,000 | 114% |
| 329 | Bowling Green StateBowling Green, OH · public | $28,620 | $30,849 | $41,972 | $31,000 | 108% |
| 330 | North Carolina Central UniversityDurham, NC · public | $28,522 | $30,238 | Not reported | $29,000 | 102% |
| 331 | TCUFort Worth, TX · private nonprofit | $28,328 | $29,187 | $54,366 | $27,000 | 95% |
| 332 | Cal State Channel IslandsCamarillo, CA · public | $28,324 | $25,582 | $50,286 | $18,000 | 64% |
| 333 | Western Connecticut StateDanbury, CT · public | $27,784 | $26,816 | Not reported | $26,782 | 96% |
| 334 | The New SchoolNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $27,701 | $25,668 | $41,609 | $26,750 | 97% |
| 335 | Harding UniversitySearcy, AR · private nonprofit | $27,686 | Not adjusted | $48,709 | $26,909 | 97% |
| 336 | Cal Poly HumboldtArcata, CA · public | $27,303 | $24,660 | $38,082 | $16,000 | 59% |
| 337 | Coastal Carolina UniversityConway, SC · public | $27,221 | $29,036 | $43,704 | $27,250 | 100% |
| 338 | Chico StateChico, CA · public | $27,196 | $24,563 | $55,139 | $17,500 | 64% |
| 339 | SUNY Old WestburyOld Westbury, NY · public | $27,165 | $25,171 | Not reported | $24,833 | 91% |
| 340 | University of Arkansas-Fort SmithFort Smith, AR · public | $26,728 | $30,744 | $42,814 | $28,187 | 105% |
| 341 | New Mexico Highlands UniversityLas Vegas, NM · public | $26,461 | $28,696 | Not reported | $28,606 | 108% |
| 342 | Evergreen State CollegeOlympia, WA · public | $26,328 | $24,603 | $41,864 | $21,354 | 81% |
| 343 | Alcorn StateAlcorn State, MS · public | $26,269 | $30,211 | Not reported | $39,250 | 149% |
| 344 | College of Staten IslandStaten Island, NY · public | $25,967 | $24,061 | $67,334 | $13,995 | 54% |
| 345 | University of La VerneLa Verne, CA · private nonprofit | $25,945 | $23,433 | $54,973 | $23,500 | 91% |
| 346 | Northwest Nazarene UniversityNampa, ID · private nonprofit | $25,923 | $27,146 | Not reported | $27,000 | 104% |
| 347 | Sarah Lawrence CollegeBronxville, NY · private nonprofit | $25,846 | Not adjusted | $42,672 | $24,245 | 94% |
| 348 | Southern University at New OrleansNew Orleans, LA · public | $25,777 | $29,223 | Not reported | $55,541 | 215% |
| 349 | Bluefield StateBluefield, WV · public | $25,677 | $28,690 | Not reported | $28,655 | 112% |
| 350 | Pace UniversityNew York, NY · private nonprofit | $25,595 | $23,716 | Not reported | $25,229 | 99% |
| 351 | Bethune-Cookman UniversityDaytona Beach, FL · private nonprofit | $25,459 | $24,619 | $38,111 | $31,000 | 122% |
| 352 | Valdosta StateValdosta, GA · public | $25,441 | $26,420 | $44,444 | $31,000 | 122% |
| 353 | Villanova UniversityVillanova, PA · private nonprofit | $25,436 | Not adjusted | $75,378 | $25,000 | 98% |
| 354 | Fresno StateFresno, CA · public | $25,349 | $22,895 | $54,909 | $13,662 | 54% |
| 355 | St. John's College (Maryland)Annapolis, MD · private nonprofit | $25,307 | Not adjusted | $35,444 | $27,000 | 107% |
| 356 | Lander UniversityGreenwood, SC · public | $25,204 | $26,885 | $39,448 | $27,125 | 108% |
| 357 | SUNY Purchase CollegePurchase, NY · public | $25,197 | $23,348 | $44,688 | $25,000 | 99% |
| 358 | Cal Poly PomonaPomona, CA · public | $25,168 | $22,731 | $49,335 | $13,750 | 55% |
| 359 | Wayne StateDetroit, MI · public | $25,046 | $26,031 | $63,192 | $18,028 | 72% |
| 360 | Cal State San BernardinoSan Bernardino, CA · public | $24,979 | $22,561 | $55,231 | $14,295 | 57% |
| 361 | LSUBaton Rouge, LA · public | $24,879 | $28,205 | $47,289 | $19,575 | 79% |
| 362 | University of AkronAkron, OH · public | $24,851 | $26,787 | $57,605 | $31,044 | 125% |
| 363 | Cal State FullertonFullerton, CA · public | $24,706 | $22,314 | $52,783 | $13,535 | 55% |
| 364 | Glenville StateGlenville, WV · public | $24,636 | Not adjusted | $27,640 | $28,799 | 117% |
| 365 | Southern Nazarene UniversityBethany, OK · private nonprofit | $23,445 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $30,754 | 131% |
| 366 | Allen UniversityColumbia, SC · private nonprofit | $23,371 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $39,525 | 169% |
| 367 | Cumberland UniversityLebanon, TN · private nonprofit | $23,264 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $28,476 | 122% |
| 368 | Portland StatePortland, OR · public | $23,253 | $22,497 | $43,029 | $30,250 | 130% |
| 369 | UC RiversideRiverside, CA · public | $23,203 | $20,956 | $61,690 | $16,436 | 71% |
| 370 | San Diego StateSan Diego, CA · public | $23,190 | $20,945 | $58,202 | $12,496 | 54% |
| 371 | Fort Valley StateFort Valley, GA · public | $23,157 | Not adjusted | Not reported | $39,693 | 171% |
| 372 | St. John's College (New Mexico)Santa Fe, NM · private nonprofit | $23,029 | Not adjusted | $27,988 | $27,000 | 117% |
| 373 | Concordia University-IrvineIrvine, CA · private nonprofit | $22,652 | Not adjusted | $47,713 | $26,000 | 115% |
| 374 | Bryn Mawr CollegeBryn Mawr, PA · private nonprofit | $22,335 | Not adjusted | $49,828 | $23,069 | 103% |
| 375 | University of LouisvilleLouisville, KY · public | $22,239 | $24,666 | $43,109 | $27,001 | 121% |
| 376 | Montclair StateMontclair, NJ · public | $22,201 | $20,404 | $54,979 | $25,967 | 117% |
| 377 | UNC AshevilleAsheville, NC · public | $22,144 | Not adjusted | $40,419 | $18,743 | 85% |
| 378 | Southern Virginia UniversityBuena Vista, VA · private nonprofit | $22,024 | Not adjusted | $40,640 | $18,500 | 84% |
| 379 | Francis Marion UniversityFlorence, SC · public | $21,838 | $23,294 | $36,408 | $41,475 | 190% |
| 380 | Livingstone CollegeSalisbury, NC · private nonprofit | $21,640 | $22,942 | $31,627 | $35,225 | 163% |
| 381 | Lincoln University (Missouri)Jefferson City, MO · public | $21,282 | Not adjusted | $36,205 | $43,382 | 204% |
| 382 | Baruch CollegeNew York, NY · public | $21,170 | $19,616 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 383 | Appalachian StateBoone, NC · public | $21,143 | $22,415 | Not reported | $24,977 | 118% |
| 384 | Hampshire CollegeAmherst, MA · private nonprofit | $21,113 | Not adjusted | $32,405 | $26,500 | 126% |
| 385 | New College of FloridaSarasota, FL · public | $20,395 | $19,722 | $42,117 | $15,314 | 75% |
| 386 | UH ManoaHonolulu, HI · public | $20,074 | $18,257 | $50,888 | $23,877 | 119% |
| 387 | Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-PoncePonce, PR · private nonprofit | $19,848 | Not adjusted | $28,596 | $19,040 | 96% |
| 388 | Soka University of AmericaAliso Viejo, CA · private nonprofit | $19,776 | $17,861 | $49,249 | $18,750 | 95% |
| 389 | The Master's UniversitySanta Clarita, CA · private nonprofit | $18,621 | Not adjusted | $47,179 | $14,750 | 79% |
Pay after cost of living divides first-year pay by the Bureau of Economic Analysis price level of the school's state, where the US average is 100. It is shown for 317 programs where at least half of the graduates who work are working in the school's state. The other 72, whose graduates mostly work in other states or whose state has no price level, are listed last when you sort by it.
8 programs report pay but not debt, so they are ranked only by pay.
College Scorecard withholds pay for programs with too few graduates, to protect their privacy, so those programs can't be ranked. 6 more programs report pay but aren't listed, because College Scorecard's school file doesn't name their schools. The national medians above still count them.
Liberal Arts and General Studies (Bachelor's) programs by state
Each row is the median across the state's liberal arts and general studies bachelor's programs. State names link to the full ranking of that state's programs.
| # | State | Programs | Year 1 pay | Debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Wisconsin | 7 | $43,714 | $29,000 |
| 2 | Connecticut | 8 | $42,807 | $25,373 |
| 3 | Illinois | 11 | $42,107 | $29,109 |
| 4 | Virginia | 11 | $41,398 | $25,375 |
| 5 | Kansas | 6 | $41,219 | $26,573 |
| 6 | Ohio | 11 | $40,431 | $29,832 |
| 7 | Iowa | 6 | $40,400 | $26,700 |
| 8 | Massachusetts | 12 | $39,141 | $26,500 |
| 9 | Texas | 25 | $38,829 | $26,875 |
| 10 | New Jersey | 12 | $38,032 | $26,750 |
| 11 | Michigan | 12 | $37,904 | $30,255 |
| 12 | Oklahoma | 11 | $37,786 | $26,595 |
| 13 | Missouri | 12 | $37,589 | $28,763 |
| 14 | Tennessee | 10 | $37,437 | $28,979 |
| 15 | Maine | 5 | $36,809 | $25,000 |
| 16 | Mississippi | 6 | $36,746 | $29,250 |
| 17 | Maryland | 6 | $36,337 | $28,000 |
| 18 | Indiana | 18 | $35,853 | $27,000 |
| 19 | New York | 22 | $35,817 | $24,917 |
| 20 | Washington | 5 | $35,398 | $22,881 |
| 21 | Florida | 11 | $35,361 | $25,571 |
| 22 | Kentucky | 8 | $35,025 | $28,902 |
| 23 | Georgia | 5 | $34,576 | $39,693 |
| 24 | West Virginia | 11 | $33,587 | $28,799 |
| 25 | Pennsylvania | 11 | $33,573 | $27,750 |
| 26 | Arkansas | 10 | $32,925 | $26,955 |
| 27 | Louisiana | 9 | $32,688 | $27,000 |
| 28 | North Carolina | 12 | $32,546 | $28,524 |
| 29 | Idaho | 5 | $32,082 | $26,698 |
| 30 | New Mexico | 5 | $31,428 | $24,656 |
| 31 | Alabama | 5 | $30,939 | $29,750 |
| 32 | California | 34 | $30,619 | $16,468 |
| 33 | South Carolina | 8 | $28,364 | $27,188 |
Programs in 17 more states and territories report pay, but too few to rank. A state ranking needs at least five programs that report both pay and debt.
Quick picks nationwide
Lowest median debt
- American Public University System, WV$6,265
- BYU-Idaho, ID$10,731
- Excelsior University, NY$11,875
- MIT, MA$11,935
- San Diego State, CA$12,496
- City College of New York, NY$12,985
- UNC Chapel Hill, NC$13,000
- Cal State Fullerton, CA$13,535
- Fresno State, CA$13,662
- Cal State Monterey Bay, CA$13,750
Lowest debt for the pay
- American Public University System, WV10%
- MIT, MA12%
- Excelsior University, NY23%
- Yale University, CT26%
- City College of New York, NY30%
- UCF, FL31%
- Endicott College, MA34%
- UNC Chapel Hill, NC34%
- Bentley University, MA36%
- BYU-Idaho, ID36%
Only the 344 programs with their own page here are included. "Debt for the pay" is median debt divided by first-year pay.
Common questions
The median liberal arts and general studies bachelor's program in the US pays its graduates $36,157 in their first year and $48,575 five years after.
Wisconsin, where the median program pays its graduates $43,714 in their first year, the highest of 33 state rankings. Connecticut is next, at $42,807.
MIT in Massachusetts reports the highest first-year pay of the 389 programs ranked here, $103,135. Its median federal debt is $11,935.
The median program leaves its graduates with $27,000 in federal debt. Across programs, the median debt is 73% of first-year pay.
Related pages
About this data
- Earnings and debt only include students who received federal financial aid, and earnings only count graduates who were working and not enrolled in more school.
- Debt only includes federal loans. Private loans and credit cards are not counted.
- Medians are across programs, not students: each program counts once, however many graduates it has.
- National medians include every program in the 50 states, DC, and US territories, including schools that have since closed. Schools with several campuses that report one combined figure are counted once.
- Programs are ranked by College Scorecard median pay one year after graduation. Pay after cost of living uses the price level of the school's state.
- Scorecard figures describe graduating classes from several years ago. BLS wages are from May 2025. Price levels are the Bureau of Economic Analysis Regional Price Parities for 2024.
Sources
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, field of study and institution files, June 2026 release
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Employment Projections 2025 to 2035
- NCES, CIP 2020 to SOC 2018 crosswalk
- Bureau of Economic Analysis, Regional Price Parities, 2024